We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is good,but too noisy at night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shuyuan Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Shuyuan Youth Hostel
No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 221 Reviews
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Everything is good,but too noisy at night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights.Our first impression of this hostel was fabulous,excellent location,gorgeous decoration(Chinese classic style),good service of reception,complimentary coffee as welcome drink.At first,It exceed our expectation.

We booked a double room,it was OK,the price was reasonable.At the first night,we slept well,perhaps both of us were too tired.

Unfortunately,at the following 3 nights,I could not sleep quickly,because it was too noisy in the hostel!There was a bar under the hostel,it would open to late at night,the drunkards would walk around in the hostel and yell,they made suck a noise,but no staff stop them!Just drunkards' friend asked them to stop yelling,then it was quiet for a few seconds,but later,they yelled again and again!That was horrible!!!

If you could sleep well in noisy surrounding,perhaps this hostel is a good place for you! If you cannot,it is absolutely not the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    88
    35
    11
    10
See reviews for
9
47
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't stay here unless you want to lie awake in your bed until 2:30 a.m. each night, pay more for less, and take lousy tours (at least to Hua Shan). All the positive reviews really surprise me, as our experience was not positive at all.

Where to begin. The biggest issue is the bar located right under the place. It plays loud music that will keep you up at night (even with earplugs) unless you plan to drink yourself to sleep. This is particularly true for the second of the three courtyards at Shuyuan. Most nights drunken patrons also spilled out into the courtyard talking loudly for a while after bar closing. Furthermore, the bar doesn't really add to the atmosphere at Shuyuan as far as I could tell; the two times I stuck my head in it was packed with locals but no foreigners to chat with.

Neither is Shuyuan a good value. We paid 180 yuan for a double. The room was adequate and clean, but nothing to write home about. They also only turn on the hot water between 8:00 a.m. and noon, which seemed unnecessarily stingy given this price (we paid similar prices elsewhere during our stay for nicer rooms, and never had our hot water supply restricted). The restaurant in back is good, but also expensive. We had to consistently go up to the staff persons messing with there smartphones when we wanted to order despite no other patrons being present to occupy their time.

The staff at the front desk were OK, a few girls were friendly but most of the guys were not. Furthermore, the tour we were sold to Hua Shan was terrible (I strongly recommend you go elsewhere to book it). They stuck us on a bus with a bunch of domestic tourists and a non-English speaking tour guide. The bus then parked in a dirt lot far from the Hua Shan entrance and the Chinese tour guide handed us a poorly written note about how to catch several buses to the entrance and then back again at the end of the day. When things inevitably went wrong because one of the buses dropped us off in the wrong place and the bus driver refused to budge once there, we almost got left at Hua Shan.

The best thing was probably Shuyuan's location: right next to the old city walls near the South Gate. This, however, does not make up for all the shortcomings described above. If I ever get back to Xi'an, I would rather sleep on the street than at Shuyuan again. Alright, I am exaggerating a little. But I am not exaggerating a lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a very good four day stay here.

Very reasonable - 180 Yuan for a double room; Restaurant has a western breakfast which is good - plus nice place to hang out; DIY Dumpling cookery class on a Friday evening which was excellent. Organise all tours (Terracotta Warriors etc). Very friendly, English speaking staff.

Located at the south gate of the city. Nice reception area. Rooms are a bit dark and decor could be improved. Family friendly. They have a pet cat and dog also!

Overall - great place to base yourself when in Xian.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Pros: Sweet looking Chinese theme hostel with open air concept. Great pockets to hang out in. Bar downstairs. Breakfasts are good but expensive. Cheap laundry service. Great location near south gate. Reception desk is helpful and well organised. You always see staff cleaning the joint. They will pick you up at the airport for 150 yuan.

Cons: No wifi in room. Inconsistent hot water in private rooms. Private bathroom smells dank and it permeates the rest of the room. Room is rough around the edges and could use a face lift. Restaurant food is expensive and takes forever. Large open air concept means when it's raining, you're getting wet when walking around the hostel and to your room. Private room is expensive. You can get a hotel room near the Bell Tower for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Fantastic 3 night stay!! Staff was very helpful, food in the bar was great, bathrooms were very clean! Good location, coffee, and breakfast, good laundry service as well. Would love to stay longer. The dog of the hostel is adorable and very friendly. Location is very central, close to many attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

returned here after 4 years as experience was a good one with really friendly atmosphere . I remember being aware of noise from the bar downstairs but quietened down about 1am - not so this time!! Everyone seemed to spill out from the bar and congregate in the corridors and courtyard and smoke and chat loudly till 4-5 am!!! The cleaners then started at 6am and were clanking buckets and talking really loud throughout the whole place. I asked to get other room and the staff could not have been nicer and more helpful in doing this but unfortunately it seems as though there is no avoiding the high noise level - infact an argument broke out one morning 4am and girls were screaming at each other and a bloke set of the fire extinguisher. No staff seemed to come to try and sort things out!!After 3 nights i was so glad to leave. This is so sad as I feel for other reasons this would be a fantastic place to stay- good food and very friendly atmosphere during the day!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice location next to the major attractions in town. Staff is helpful and will reserve you the best rate for the terracotta army without any shopping stops. The rooms are clean and the restaurant provides good meals to fair prices. Best is the bar down stairs with live music entertainment and cheap beer until late. Best hostel in China so far!!! Book it :)

Room Tip: Single room are not to expensive but bathrooms are smelling weird. That's the only negative thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shuyuan Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shuyuan Youth Hostel

Address: No.2A Shuncheng West Alley, Nanmenli, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Shuyuan Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shuyuan Youth Hotel Xi`An
Shuyuan Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuyuan Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.