We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Required to provide a deposit of over 100% of the room rate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.26 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #926 of 2,169 Hotels in Xi'an
Macau
1 review
“Required to provide a deposit of over 100% of the room rate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We chose the hotel due to its great discount rates for midweek and off season. It's location is excellent and the airport shuttle drops you off right outside. The rooms themselves were quite nice and provided a lot of amenities although there is only Wifi and not internet in the hotel. There is also a considerable level of traffic noise at all hours give the central location.

On arrival, the hotel required us to put 300 yuen a night deposit down for the room as well as 300 for the room key which is quite excessive (given that we have been quoted a rate of 280 a night) compared with other hotels in china which would only ask for 100 deposit for the key or a percentage of the room rate in case you use the mini bar.

There was also a misunderstanding as to the number of days we were staying, even though we had both emailed the dates to the hotel when confirming our reservation and reconfirmed at check in when we were querying why such a high deposit was required. This meant that we were locked out of our room on our last night and the reception were not willing to let us back in until we had paid a further 300 yuen deposit even though we would be checking out in 12 hours time. We were only let back in after I pointed out that my credit card was locked inside the room. After that, reception phoned our room wanting us to come down and pay the additional deposit.

Aside from the obsessive issue with the deposit, we generally found the staff to be quite rude and unhelpful - if they didn't speak english, they would ignore you when you spoke to them and phone someone else to come and deal with you. Reception also dealt with other Chinese guests when they were in the process of dealing with us, as Chinese speakers appeared to have priority. Another member of reception also looked over my hand covering the credit card machine to read my pin number as I was keying it in which I found quite an invasion of privacy and very rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    92
    59
    25
    20
See reviews for
12
13
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Location is superb, you can beat it really...imagine dropping off from the airport shuttle at the doorstep of the hotel literally.

It's opposite the drum tower, so it's in the middle of the city walls. Around it are fast food restaurants, Muslim quarters, drum tower and convenient access to buses going to the train station.

Reception service was brisk and not so courteous but that is typical of hotels around China. Tried to borrow an adaptor but they weren't very helpful.

Room was clean and adequate. I had a single room with a double bed and just enough space to walk around. But in the morning at 9am, housekeeping knocked on the door on 2 mornings anxious to clean the room - best to hang the Do Not Disturb sign if you do not want to be disturbed.

For internet access in the room, you have to pay extra.

Overall, great place to stay although you won't get 5 star service or anything fancy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The only thing positive about this hotel was the location, but even that was underwhelming with the loud traffic and drunk people noises filtering into the room all night (and we're not too fussy about that sort of thing normally). The rooms were dirty and poky and the bathrooms horrible. We found the staff to be disinterested and at times rude, and there was a large amount of confusion over some (overpriced) laundry that we had done.
On our first morning we had an unrequested 5.50am wake up call, and on the second day one at 3am. Needless to say we wish we had read and heeded the reviews on this site - I would never return and recommend sacrificing location and cheap prices for a decent hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed at the Melody Hotel and had a very good overall experience. It's gotta be one of the best locations, very central in town, close to the city wall, which is a recommended visit! Overlooks the Drum Tower - you need to request a room with a view though! Close to the Muslim Quarter..... Tourist Info Centre, which we found very helpful, the girl there told us which bus to take to see the Terracotta Warrior's and how to get there, she also wrote a note for the taxi driver as many don't speak English. Taking the bus was no sweat and we saved a heap of money, rather than organising a driver.
The room was your typical 3 star room, not flash, but comfy enough. The staff were friendly and when we requested a different room because the first one smelt bad, there was no problem, it took just a few minutes to change.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#84 of 2,169 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#55 of 2,169 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xi'an City Hotel
Xi'an City Hotel
#212 of 2,169 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meihua Goldentang International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#98 of 2,169 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Address: No.26 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #926 of 2,169 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.