We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap hotel and service. not suitable for families.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #439 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“crap hotel and service. not suitable for families.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the only good thing is the location, just across the street from the drum tower and muslim quarter by underpass.

1. the entire hotel is dated and almost falling apart in places.
2. the entire hotel stinks of third-hand cigarette smoke. cancerous!
3. the corridors and elevators smell so bad i've to hold my breath each time i go from lobby to room.
4. rooms and bathrooms filthy, but beds were very clean.
5. beds can be rather stiff and hard for westerners.
6. from evening till midnight i had calls offering "massage services" in mandarin... and when i disconnected the phone, they came knocking on my door!
7. i had a single room and it was really very small. just my both arms length outstretched + an extra hand's width.
8. traffic, and cars sounding their horns indiscriminately at all times of the night, and people shouting on the streets kept me awake.
9. wifi's only available at the lobby, which only had space for 3 people to sit comfortably and is always occupied by Chinese guests(?) sleeping.
10. air-conditioning is weak. they claimed it was centralized and you can only change the level of air conditioning (1-low, 2-medium, 3-high). as my room was facing the setting sun, my room was like a sauna well till past sundown... and they refused to move me to another room.
11. intimate kits were placed next to the sink. if it's already not obvious enough what this hotel is more suitable for.
12. very dark corridors.
13. tried to use the public restroom but as the gents was being cleaned, was re-directed to a rubbish dump?!
14. reception barely spoke english. thankfully i spoke mandarin, but the poor hapless non-mandarin speakers will have problems if they encounter any issues with the room or any other special reqeusts.

NOT recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    92
    58
    23
    19
See reviews for
12
13
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Value for price : the price of that hotel is very cheap, and the location is absolutely perfect because the entrance of the hotel is the airport shuttle bus station. The bus literally stops at less than 2 meters from the door.

Hotel and room : To be honest, for the European level, this hotel can seem very old or more exactly badly maintained. But it's not a big problem, the bed and bathroom were perfectly clean, the problems were for example the door that would need new painting, or that had to be closed with energy, the wall needed to be refreshed, the corridor was not in very good shape, things like that, but the most important was good. The bathroom was also perfectly clean.

What was more strange in this hotel is the ambiance, I think it must be an hotel that was for upper-class of communist party some decades ago, and it was not renewed since, but the same customers still come. As a European these customers looked at me strangely sometimes, but a simple "Nihao" (hello) was OK to make them smile. There was also at least 10 policemen in the lobby, maybe some police office in the same building ?

About the staff : in the whole city of Xi'an I felt that the employees seems like bureaucratic semi-helpful government workers, but again, to be honest, they made their best to answer my questions, and proved to be very helpful and finally very efficient. Even at 5 o'clock in the morning there were 3 girls (sleeping while sitting and waking up to serve customers) at the reception for a quick check-out.

Another great point, I arrived in the morning and they immediately gave me a room even if I was too early for check-in.

But I can confirm that the city outside is noisy depending on your room, this hotel is good for one or too days of visit. Maybe less recommended for romantic or business trip.

Please also note that there is no WiFi in the rooms, but some rooms have Internet. Wifi is available in the lobby (but only 3 seats).

Well, if you are not after luxury this hotel is sufficient, very well located and a true experience. I would return there if I go back to Xi'an, at least the first or the last day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days and I guess I just classify it as average. Room was very small and not layed out well. Rooms are very dated and dark. Location was good ..... close to Bell and Drum Tower.... 2 blocks. Very noise at night with the street traffic outside.... lots of car/bus horns. Front desk was OK but generally required help from the the asst manager who spoke English. Free wifi not available in room but available from a couple of sofas in the lobby. It was actually from the restaurant attached to hotel.

Price was Ok at about 30usd but did not do a lot of comparison shopping. Arrived via train station but left via airport bus which leaves from directly outside the front door every 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen better upfront staff and management in China than melody hotel. Wang Juan and everybody were very kind and helpful. During the Holiday season they were very very polite and kind. Anything I tell or ask them, they immediately did it for me. Good location and kind people. Please disregard other negative remarks and stay here. XIE XIE NI. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its central location. The staff are unhelpful, the bedrooms well below average, and the bathrooms in dire need of an overhaul!! We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of China, and tried to spend as little as possible time in the hotel. Breakfast was unacceptable, nevermind inedible! My brother & his girlfriend had booked a cheaper hotel (backpackers!!) 10 minutes walk down the road, and it was far superior to the Melody. The bathroom was literally falling apart, and they had stuck some pieces of it back together with sticky tape! Plugs were hanging off the wall in the bedroom, with wires hanging out. Perhaps the Melody should be inspected again and be regraded - by NO stretch of the imagination does it qualify as a three star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! We were booked into this hotel by our tour organisers and, of all the hotels in which we stayed in China, this was by far the worst. If they had minus star ratings, this one would earn minus five!! The rooms were dirty, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off the walls, electric wall plugs were falling out of the walls and constituted an extreme hazard, curtains were filthy. Furthermore, our buffet western breakfast consisted of coffee with evaporated milk, a slice of spam, a fried egg and two slices of dry bread with a scraping of peanut butter - so you had two choices, take it or leave it. Luckily there is a Starbucks quite close by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms look dull and most furnishings are torn. Bath rooms sealants cracked with fungi growth. Windows dont open full and air becomes stuffy. Staff does not understand nor even tries to understand that you need airconditioning to be ON. Any form of service completely missing as soon as they hear English they and put you on hold forever. Thereafter you can hear giggling voices. Most pathetic breakfast which after eating on day one we had to stop.
Avoid this hotel even though location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as far as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Address: No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.