We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.26 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #827 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 209 Reviews
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Value for price : the price of that hotel is very cheap, and the location is absolutely perfect because the entrance of the hotel is the airport shuttle bus station. The bus literally stops at less than 2 meters from the door.

Hotel and room : To be honest, for the European level, this hotel can seem very old or more exactly badly maintained. But it's not a big problem, the bed and bathroom were perfectly clean, the problems were for example the door that would need new painting, or that had to be closed with energy, the wall needed to be refreshed, the corridor was not in very good shape, things like that, but the most important was good. The bathroom was also perfectly clean.

What was more strange in this hotel is the ambiance, I think it must be an hotel that was for upper-class of communist party some decades ago, and it was not renewed since, but the same customers still come. As a European these customers looked at me strangely sometimes, but a simple "Nihao" (hello) was OK to make them smile. There was also at least 10 policemen in the lobby, maybe some police office in the same building ?

About the staff : in the whole city of Xi'an I felt that the employees seems like bureaucratic semi-helpful government workers, but again, to be honest, they made their best to answer my questions, and proved to be very helpful and finally very efficient. Even at 5 o'clock in the morning there were 3 girls (sleeping while sitting and waking up to serve customers) at the reception for a quick check-out.

Another great point, I arrived in the morning and they immediately gave me a room even if I was too early for check-in.

But I can confirm that the city outside is noisy depending on your room, this hotel is good for one or too days of visit. Maybe less recommended for romantic or business trip.

Please also note that there is no WiFi in the rooms, but some rooms have Internet. Wifi is available in the lobby (but only 3 seats).

Well, if you are not after luxury this hotel is sufficient, very well located and a true experience. I would return there if I go back to Xi'an, at least the first or the last day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    92
    58
    25
    20
See reviews for
12
13
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days and I guess I just classify it as average. Room was very small and not layed out well. Rooms are very dated and dark. Location was good ..... close to Bell and Drum Tower.... 2 blocks. Very noise at night with the street traffic outside.... lots of car/bus horns. Front desk was OK but generally required help from the the asst manager who spoke English. Free wifi not available in room but available from a couple of sofas in the lobby. It was actually from the restaurant attached to hotel.

Price was Ok at about 30usd but did not do a lot of comparison shopping. Arrived via train station but left via airport bus which leaves from directly outside the front door every 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen better upfront staff and management in China than melody hotel. Wang Juan and everybody were very kind and helpful. During the Holiday season they were very very polite and kind. Anything I tell or ask them, they immediately did it for me. Good location and kind people. Please disregard other negative remarks and stay here. XIE XIE NI. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its central location. The staff are unhelpful, the bedrooms well below average, and the bathrooms in dire need of an overhaul!! We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of China, and tried to spend as little as possible time in the hotel. Breakfast was unacceptable, nevermind inedible! My brother & his girlfriend had booked a cheaper hotel (backpackers!!) 10 minutes walk down the road, and it was far superior to the Melody. The bathroom was literally falling apart, and they had stuck some pieces of it back together with sticky tape! Plugs were hanging off the wall in the bedroom, with wires hanging out. Perhaps the Melody should be inspected again and be regraded - by NO stretch of the imagination does it qualify as a three star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! We were booked into this hotel by our tour organisers and, of all the hotels in which we stayed in China, this was by far the worst. If they had minus star ratings, this one would earn minus five!! The rooms were dirty, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off the walls, electric wall plugs were falling out of the walls and constituted an extreme hazard, curtains were filthy. Furthermore, our buffet western breakfast consisted of coffee with evaporated milk, a slice of spam, a fried egg and two slices of dry bread with a scraping of peanut butter - so you had two choices, take it or leave it. Luckily there is a Starbucks quite close by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms look dull and most furnishings are torn. Bath rooms sealants cracked with fungi growth. Windows dont open full and air becomes stuffy. Staff does not understand nor even tries to understand that you need airconditioning to be ON. Any form of service completely missing as soon as they hear English they and put you on hold forever. Thereafter you can hear giggling voices. Most pathetic breakfast which after eating on day one we had to stop.
Avoid this hotel even though location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as far as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
641 reviews 641 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The best thing going for this hotel is its location. Buses coming from the airport stop right in front. So it's easy to go/come to the airport. Also, the hotel is right across the street from the Drum Tower(geat views from hotel window). Shopping areas are within easy walking distance. Lobbey was nice. Rooms were average. Yes, the rooms do need an upgrade. Wallpaper coming loose in several spots. Furniture could be updated. Overall room seemed clean and healthy safe. Hallways were kinda dark. No problems with elevators. Some reviews say its loud-hey,your in China--its always loud in Chinese cities. I enjoyed the restaurant. Thought it was clean and offered good food. The room served its purpose. it provided a decent place to sleep with a great location. I didn't go to Xi'an to spend all day in a hotel room-just sleep at night. It served its purpose at a decent price considering its great location to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Address: No.26 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #827 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.