We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days and I guess I just classify it as average. Room was very small and not layed out well. Rooms are very dated and dark. Location was good ..... close to Bell and Drum Tower.... 2 blocks. Very noise at night with the street traffic outside.... lots of car/bus horns. Front desk was OK but generally required help from the the asst manager who spoke English. Free wifi not available in room but available from a couple of sofas in the lobby. It was actually from the restaurant attached to hotel.

Price was Ok at about 30usd but did not do a lot of comparison shopping. Arrived via train station but left via airport bus which leaves from directly outside the front door every 30 minutes or so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    91
    57
    22
    18
See reviews for
11
11
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen better upfront staff and management in China than melody hotel. Wang Juan and everybody were very kind and helpful. During the Holiday season they were very very polite and kind. Anything I tell or ask them, they immediately did it for me. Good location and kind people. Please disregard other negative remarks and stay here. XIE XIE NI. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its central location. The staff are unhelpful, the bedrooms well below average, and the bathrooms in dire need of an overhaul!! We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of China, and tried to spend as little as possible time in the hotel. Breakfast was unacceptable, nevermind inedible! My brother & his girlfriend had booked a cheaper hotel (backpackers!!) 10 minutes walk down the road, and it was far superior to the Melody. The bathroom was literally falling apart, and they had stuck some pieces of it back together with sticky tape! Plugs were hanging off the wall in the bedroom, with wires hanging out. Perhaps the Melody should be inspected again and be regraded - by NO stretch of the imagination does it qualify as a three star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! We were booked into this hotel by our tour organisers and, of all the hotels in which we stayed in China, this was by far the worst. If they had minus star ratings, this one would earn minus five!! The rooms were dirty, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off the walls, electric wall plugs were falling out of the walls and constituted an extreme hazard, curtains were filthy. Furthermore, our buffet western breakfast consisted of coffee with evaporated milk, a slice of spam, a fried egg and two slices of dry bread with a scraping of peanut butter - so you had two choices, take it or leave it. Luckily there is a Starbucks quite close by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms look dull and most furnishings are torn. Bath rooms sealants cracked with fungi growth. Windows dont open full and air becomes stuffy. Staff does not understand nor even tries to understand that you need airconditioning to be ON. Any form of service completely missing as soon as they hear English they and put you on hold forever. Thereafter you can hear giggling voices. Most pathetic breakfast which after eating on day one we had to stop.
Avoid this hotel even though location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as far as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The best thing going for this hotel is its location. Buses coming from the airport stop right in front. So it's easy to go/come to the airport. Also, the hotel is right across the street from the Drum Tower(geat views from hotel window). Shopping areas are within easy walking distance. Lobbey was nice. Rooms were average. Yes, the rooms do need an upgrade. Wallpaper coming loose in several spots. Furniture could be updated. Overall room seemed clean and healthy safe. Hallways were kinda dark. No problems with elevators. Some reviews say its loud-hey,your in China--its always loud in Chinese cities. I enjoyed the restaurant. Thought it was clean and offered good food. The room served its purpose. it provided a decent place to sleep with a great location. I didn't go to Xi'an to spend all day in a hotel room-just sleep at night. It served its purpose at a decent price considering its great location to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Victoria, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First of all, I cannot believe the pictures representing this hotel online. They are completely unrealistic. The rooms are alright, with the usual dirty walls and dirty carpets that are customary in most Chinese hotels in big cities, and the bathroom ceilings were rusty. This was not so bad, I had already become accustomed to this after spending a month travelling across China. It was the staff and service that made it fun.

We arrived very late and very tired, and gave the girls at the front desk three different credit cards, including Union Pay and VISA, which they do accept at the desk but which they all rejected because they apparently didn't work. When we gave them written instructions on how to use the credit cards, in Chinese, they suddenly repented and asked for the VISA back, as if it now magically worked. Then it turned out, their machine didn't work. They wanted cash, a very large amount which we now lost because they said online that they accepted credit cards. The girls at the desk kept giggling and making fun of us (they thought we didn't understand any Chinese at all), but after spending 10 hours travelling in rundown buses and planes it wasn't so amusing for us. One woman was trying to "help" but she ignored and cut off everybody who spoke except the person whose card we were using. The next morning, the credit card machine miraculously healed itself.

The manager of the hotel didn't allow us to sit anywhere else in the lobby because all the chairs were taken (they have something like two small couches and an armchair in the lobby); unfortunately, the lobby is the only place with the internet. So if you need to use it and there are no seats, the manager personally tells you to get out. They blocked our room key three times, for some reason; fortunately the cleaning lady was there to help us open our room. They also blocked it twenty minutes before check-out, and when we were just finishing with our luggage, they kept knocking on the door or opening it and coming in, rushing us out of there, even though it wasn't check-out time yet. Another funny moment was when one of the girls at the desk looked at our computer and then said to the other girl in plain, audible Chinese: "That computer is so cheap!" Thank you, that was a nice complement.

But yes, the location is great. Right in the downtown. Awesome. Aside from that, it was ridiculously expensive for the quality of rooms and for the service. All in all, it was a sweet rip off with lots of inconveniences sprinkled all over it like chocolate chips. Yummy.

Room Tip: If you must stay, get a room on a higher floor so that it's less noisy. Also, the extra bed make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Address: No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.