We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Xian City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melody Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #587 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
1 review
“Best Hotel in Xian City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen better upfront staff and management in China than melody hotel. Wang Juan and everybody were very kind and helpful. During the Holiday season they were very very polite and kind. Anything I tell or ask them, they immediately did it for me. Good location and kind people. Please disregard other negative remarks and stay here. XIE XIE NI. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    92
    58
    25
    19
See reviews for
12
13
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its central location. The staff are unhelpful, the bedrooms well below average, and the bathrooms in dire need of an overhaul!! We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of China, and tried to spend as little as possible time in the hotel. Breakfast was unacceptable, nevermind inedible! My brother & his girlfriend had booked a cheaper hotel (backpackers!!) 10 minutes walk down the road, and it was far superior to the Melody. The bathroom was literally falling apart, and they had stuck some pieces of it back together with sticky tape! Plugs were hanging off the wall in the bedroom, with wires hanging out. Perhaps the Melody should be inspected again and be regraded - by NO stretch of the imagination does it qualify as a three star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Do NOT stay at this hotel!! We were booked into this hotel by our tour organisers and, of all the hotels in which we stayed in China, this was by far the worst. If they had minus star ratings, this one would earn minus five!! The rooms were dirty, carpets threadbare, wallpaper peeling off the walls, electric wall plugs were falling out of the walls and constituted an extreme hazard, curtains were filthy. Furthermore, our buffet western breakfast consisted of coffee with evaporated milk, a slice of spam, a fried egg and two slices of dry bread with a scraping of peanut butter - so you had two choices, take it or leave it. Luckily there is a Starbucks quite close by!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms look dull and most furnishings are torn. Bath rooms sealants cracked with fungi growth. Windows dont open full and air becomes stuffy. Staff does not understand nor even tries to understand that you need airconditioning to be ON. Any form of service completely missing as soon as they hear English they and put you on hold forever. Thereafter you can hear giggling voices. Most pathetic breakfast which after eating on day one we had to stop.
Avoid this hotel even though location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as far as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The best thing going for this hotel is its location. Buses coming from the airport stop right in front. So it's easy to go/come to the airport. Also, the hotel is right across the street from the Drum Tower(geat views from hotel window). Shopping areas are within easy walking distance. Lobbey was nice. Rooms were average. Yes, the rooms do need an upgrade. Wallpaper coming loose in several spots. Furniture could be updated. Overall room seemed clean and healthy safe. Hallways were kinda dark. No problems with elevators. Some reviews say its loud-hey,your in China--its always loud in Chinese cities. I enjoyed the restaurant. Thought it was clean and offered good food. The room served its purpose. it provided a decent place to sleep with a great location. I didn't go to Xi'an to spend all day in a hotel room-just sleep at night. It served its purpose at a decent price considering its great location to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Victoria, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First of all, I cannot believe the pictures representing this hotel online. They are completely unrealistic. The rooms are alright, with the usual dirty walls and dirty carpets that are customary in most Chinese hotels in big cities, and the bathroom ceilings were rusty. This was not so bad, I had already become accustomed to this after spending a month travelling across China. It was the staff and service that made it fun.

We arrived very late and very tired, and gave the girls at the front desk three different credit cards, including Union Pay and VISA, which they do accept at the desk but which they all rejected because they apparently didn't work. When we gave them written instructions on how to use the credit cards, in Chinese, they suddenly repented and asked for the VISA back, as if it now magically worked. Then it turned out, their machine didn't work. They wanted cash, a very large amount which we now lost because they said online that they accepted credit cards. The girls at the desk kept giggling and making fun of us (they thought we didn't understand any Chinese at all), but after spending 10 hours travelling in rundown buses and planes it wasn't so amusing for us. One woman was trying to "help" but she ignored and cut off everybody who spoke except the person whose card we were using. The next morning, the credit card machine miraculously healed itself.

The manager of the hotel didn't allow us to sit anywhere else in the lobby because all the chairs were taken (they have something like two small couches and an armchair in the lobby); unfortunately, the lobby is the only place with the internet. So if you need to use it and there are no seats, the manager personally tells you to get out. They blocked our room key three times, for some reason; fortunately the cleaning lady was there to help us open our room. They also blocked it twenty minutes before check-out, and when we were just finishing with our luggage, they kept knocking on the door or opening it and coming in, rushing us out of there, even though it wasn't check-out time yet. Another funny moment was when one of the girls at the desk looked at our computer and then said to the other girl in plain, audible Chinese: "That computer is so cheap!" Thank you, that was a nice complement.

But yes, the location is great. Right in the downtown. Awesome. Aside from that, it was ridiculously expensive for the quality of rooms and for the service. All in all, it was a sweet rip off with lots of inconveniences sprinkled all over it like chocolate chips. Yummy.

Room Tip: If you must stay, get a room on a higher floor so that it's less noisy. Also, the extra bed make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

There are only 2 pros that I can attribute to this hotel: the location and the black-out curtains that do a great job of blocking out the morning sunlight.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels as I travel a lot for both business and pleasure. I can honestly say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - even for a budget hotel. The rooms, hallways and elevators of this hotel are completely run down and outdated. The carpets are soiled and look to be decades old. The walls and ceiling of the room we stayed in were cracked, spotted with soot-like material, and in desperate need of a couple coats of paint. The shower was cracked and discolored and I do not recommend using it without a pair of flip flops between your feet and the shower floor. The air conditioning was decent at best. My husband found a hair in the bedding and we noticed several stains on it as well. The mattresses were hard as rocks. I found one English TV channel, but the sound was so poor and disoriented, that we ended up turning off the TV. In addition, the staff spoke very little English. To top it all off, all night you can hear honking, shouting, music, etc. outside because it is a very busy street and the windows are of poor quality. Maybe this is why it is called the "Melody" Hotel. One night my husband and I woke up to a competition between motorists in parked cars who could honk the most and try to compose the best song. We were also awakened to Jingle Bells one morning. Brilliant.

Overall, I do NOT recommend this hotel at all. For an additional US$20 (or less) per night, you can stay at a much better hotel down the street. Try the Bell Tower Hotel instead.

Room Tip: Bring your own flip flops. Be prepared to pay a deposit upon check-in for any potential mini-bar ite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Address: No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melody Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;