We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Good except location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Hotel

Save Saved
You added Melody Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Melody Hotel
No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #411 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Good except location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rooms look dull and most furnishings are torn. Bath rooms sealants cracked with fungi growth. Windows dont open full and air becomes stuffy. Staff does not understand nor even tries to understand that you need airconditioning to be ON. Any form of service completely missing as soon as they hear English they and put you on hold forever. Thereafter you can hear giggling voices. Most pathetic breakfast which after eating on day one we had to stop.
Avoid this hotel even though location is good.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel as far as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    91
    57
    22
    18
See reviews for
11
11
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The best thing going for this hotel is its location. Buses coming from the airport stop right in front. So it's easy to go/come to the airport. Also, the hotel is right across the street from the Drum Tower(geat views from hotel window). Shopping areas are within easy walking distance. Lobbey was nice. Rooms were average. Yes, the rooms do need an upgrade. Wallpaper coming loose in several spots. Furniture could be updated. Overall room seemed clean and healthy safe. Hallways were kinda dark. No problems with elevators. Some reviews say its loud-hey,your in China--its always loud in Chinese cities. I enjoyed the restaurant. Thought it was clean and offered good food. The room served its purpose. it provided a decent place to sleep with a great location. I didn't go to Xi'an to spend all day in a hotel room-just sleep at night. It served its purpose at a decent price considering its great location to attractions.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Victoria, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First of all, I cannot believe the pictures representing this hotel online. They are completely unrealistic. The rooms are alright, with the usual dirty walls and dirty carpets that are customary in most Chinese hotels in big cities, and the bathroom ceilings were rusty. This was not so bad, I had already become accustomed to this after spending a month travelling across China. It was the staff and service that made it fun.

We arrived very late and very tired, and gave the girls at the front desk three different credit cards, including Union Pay and VISA, which they do accept at the desk but which they all rejected because they apparently didn't work. When we gave them written instructions on how to use the credit cards, in Chinese, they suddenly repented and asked for the VISA back, as if it now magically worked. Then it turned out, their machine didn't work. They wanted cash, a very large amount which we now lost because they said online that they accepted credit cards. The girls at the desk kept giggling and making fun of us (they thought we didn't understand any Chinese at all), but after spending 10 hours travelling in rundown buses and planes it wasn't so amusing for us. One woman was trying to "help" but she ignored and cut off everybody who spoke except the person whose card we were using. The next morning, the credit card machine miraculously healed itself.

The manager of the hotel didn't allow us to sit anywhere else in the lobby because all the chairs were taken (they have something like two small couches and an armchair in the lobby); unfortunately, the lobby is the only place with the internet. So if you need to use it and there are no seats, the manager personally tells you to get out. They blocked our room key three times, for some reason; fortunately the cleaning lady was there to help us open our room. They also blocked it twenty minutes before check-out, and when we were just finishing with our luggage, they kept knocking on the door or opening it and coming in, rushing us out of there, even though it wasn't check-out time yet. Another funny moment was when one of the girls at the desk looked at our computer and then said to the other girl in plain, audible Chinese: "That computer is so cheap!" Thank you, that was a nice complement.

But yes, the location is great. Right in the downtown. Awesome. Aside from that, it was ridiculously expensive for the quality of rooms and for the service. All in all, it was a sweet rip off with lots of inconveniences sprinkled all over it like chocolate chips. Yummy.

Room Tip: If you must stay, get a room on a higher floor so that it's less noisy. Also, the extra bed make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

There are only 2 pros that I can attribute to this hotel: the location and the black-out curtains that do a great job of blocking out the morning sunlight.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels as I travel a lot for both business and pleasure. I can honestly say that this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - even for a budget hotel. The rooms, hallways and elevators of this hotel are completely run down and outdated. The carpets are soiled and look to be decades old. The walls and ceiling of the room we stayed in were cracked, spotted with soot-like material, and in desperate need of a couple coats of paint. The shower was cracked and discolored and I do not recommend using it without a pair of flip flops between your feet and the shower floor. The air conditioning was decent at best. My husband found a hair in the bedding and we noticed several stains on it as well. The mattresses were hard as rocks. I found one English TV channel, but the sound was so poor and disoriented, that we ended up turning off the TV. In addition, the staff spoke very little English. To top it all off, all night you can hear honking, shouting, music, etc. outside because it is a very busy street and the windows are of poor quality. Maybe this is why it is called the "Melody" Hotel. One night my husband and I woke up to a competition between motorists in parked cars who could honk the most and try to compose the best song. We were also awakened to Jingle Bells one morning. Brilliant.

Overall, I do NOT recommend this hotel at all. For an additional US$20 (or less) per night, you can stay at a much better hotel down the street. Try the Bell Tower Hotel instead.

Room Tip: Bring your own flip flops. Be prepared to pay a deposit upon check-in for any potential mini-bar ite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights because it was included in our tour package. The hotel is well located, but the front desk clerks barely speak any English, they will ignore you if you are not chinese. I chose a room to the front of the building..what a mistake..noisy, horns, drunk people shouting all night. Air condition very poor, breakfast at the Star Ferry cafe next door was the worst I ever had. The second night I moved to the back of the building, bathroom was backing up, dirty, and forget about calling the front desk for wake up calls. No english spoken. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We chose the hotel due to its great discount rates for midweek and off season. It's location is excellent and the airport shuttle drops you off right outside. The rooms themselves were quite nice and provided a lot of amenities although there is only Wifi and not internet in the hotel. There is also a considerable level of traffic noise at all hours give the central location.

On arrival, the hotel required us to put 300 yuen a night deposit down for the room as well as 300 for the room key which is quite excessive (given that we have been quoted a rate of 280 a night) compared with other hotels in china which would only ask for 100 deposit for the key or a percentage of the room rate in case you use the mini bar.

There was also a misunderstanding as to the number of days we were staying, even though we had both emailed the dates to the hotel when confirming our reservation and reconfirmed at check in when we were querying why such a high deposit was required. This meant that we were locked out of our room on our last night and the reception were not willing to let us back in until we had paid a further 300 yuen deposit even though we would be checking out in 12 hours time. We were only let back in after I pointed out that my credit card was locked inside the room. After that, reception phoned our room wanting us to come down and pay the additional deposit.

Aside from the obsessive issue with the deposit, we generally found the staff to be quite rude and unhelpful - if they didn't speak english, they would ignore you when you spoke to them and phone someone else to come and deal with you. Reception also dealt with other Chinese guests when they were in the process of dealing with us, as Chinese speakers appeared to have priority. Another member of reception also looked over my hand covering the credit card machine to read my pin number as I was keying it in which I found quite an invasion of privacy and very rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Location is superb, you can beat it really...imagine dropping off from the airport shuttle at the doorstep of the hotel literally.

It's opposite the drum tower, so it's in the middle of the city walls. Around it are fast food restaurants, Muslim quarters, drum tower and convenient access to buses going to the train station.

Reception service was brisk and not so courteous but that is typical of hotels around China. Tried to borrow an adaptor but they weren't very helpful.

Room was clean and adequate. I had a single room with a double bed and just enough space to walk around. But in the morning at 9am, housekeeping knocked on the door on 2 mornings anxious to clean the room - best to hang the Do Not Disturb sign if you do not want to be disturbed.

For internet access in the room, you have to pay extra.

Overall, great place to stay although you won't get 5 star service or anything fancy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melody Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Hotel

Also Known As:
Melody Hotel Xi An
Melody Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.86 West Main Street,Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Melody Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.