We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wan Nian Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wan Nian Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.93 Changle Middle Road, Xi'an 710032, China (Xincheng District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Wan Nian Grand Hotel for 2 nights as part of a group tour. It is in a good location with a short walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a big foyer with free Wifi available. The rooms were spacious and clean. I had a King size bed which was not so firm. The pillows however are a bit flat which I am not used to. Luckily I had an extra 2 available. There is no mini bar in fridge but complimentary water is provided. There were a few english speaking TV channels available. Breakfast room was quite big. Food was OK. Chef can make omelettes with a selection of added ingredients to choose from. Some food a little strange like hot chips (although were cold) served. Overall it was a pleasant place to stay for a short trip

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    50
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent hotel with the best services. The furnishing are dated but what you get in service makes up for it. I was there with a tour group. Arrived at hotel early morning after being on sleeper train and was greeted by attendant as soon as walk in hotel. We were able to have hot breakfast and our room was made available. After coming back from seeing sights rooms had been clean again. Very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the 3rd Hotel we stayed at while doing the Chinese Checkers Tour by On the Go Tours. We stayed here for 2 nights. Breakfast was lacking as there wasn't much to choose from. The room had mosquitoes so don't forget to pack repellant. The mini fridge was not cold and the Air-con also had problems. The location of the hotel was not that bad with decent shops and restaurants in walking distance. Rooms were not cleaned well at all. We found some food on the carpet when we arrived and it remained there the entire time. The Hotel also has free WiFi in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wain nan Hotel - Xi'an
1. Rooms : clean. Small double bed, STD size room, air-con partially operational. N0 minibar supplies, English TV channels advertised but ended up being blue screens.  Bit of hanging space in cupboard, no safe.
2. Beds: "firm",  clean, plenty of pillows. Sheets only changed on request.
3. Bathroom: clean, shower in bath, Towels ok changed on request. Plenty oh hot water. One roll of toilet paper.
4. Reception: pleasant and helpful. Pretty efficient.
5. Breakfast:  ok but nothing exciting.
6. Restaurant: there are some interesting restaurants just down the road from the hotel that are worth trying. Their prices are a welcome change and they provide  plenty to eat with bubbly staff.
7. Money: ATM located 50m from the hotel.
8. English: not many of the staff can understand English.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got here after the overnight train from Beijing and were impresssed that we had the breakfast buffet to ourselves when we turned up. We had to try and reorganise our rooms as they weren't near each other as we had asked. The one thing the kids were gutted about was that the pool was out of action....we only found out after a long hot day of sightseeing. One of the reasons we had stuck with this hotel choice. Rooms were big and comfortable. Foyer very plush. Staff didn't seem to speak much English and there didn't seem to be many people staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel itself, the public areas and the rooms are very nice. The staff, even though they don't speak a lot of English, are very friendly... when you can find them, that is. We stayed here as part of a tour group and the seven of us and our tour guide were the only guests. The bar was closed, when we tried to get dinner, both restaurants were closed. When we finally found a staff member, we were told that we could order dinner, but everything we tried to order was 'out of stock'. Walking down the halls was an eery, Shining-like experience... The last morning, some of our group had left early on an add-on tour, and they had set one table in the very middle of the huge dining room for three of us.
Once again, the eery factor was not the fault of any of the staff or the hotel itself, but does make me wonder if they should keep such a large hotel open and running with such a small staff during what must have been the lowest of low season...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The rooms are massive, and our view was quite nice from our window. The shower was very powerful! and generally a nice hotel. It was very clean, although our panel for the TV channels didnt work I enjoyed our stay here. They did come round rather early for room service, so remember to flick the switch on the panel to say you dont want them coming in! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wan Nian Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Address: No.93 Changle Middle Road, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Xincheng District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#128 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wan Nian Grand Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao and Otel so you can book your Wan Nian Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wan Nian Grand Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wan Nian Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.