We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - acceptable but nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wan Nian Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Wan Nian Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.93 Changle Middle Road, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 2,156 Hotels in Xi'an
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average - acceptable but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wain nan Hotel - Xi'an
1. Rooms : clean. Small double bed, STD size room, air-con partially operational. N0 minibar supplies, English TV channels advertised but ended up being blue screens.  Bit of hanging space in cupboard, no safe.
2. Beds: "firm",  clean, plenty of pillows. Sheets only changed on request.
3. Bathroom: clean, shower in bath, Towels ok changed on request. Plenty oh hot water. One roll of toilet paper.
4. Reception: pleasant and helpful. Pretty efficient.
5. Breakfast:  ok but nothing exciting.
6. Restaurant: there are some interesting restaurants just down the road from the hotel that are worth trying. Their prices are a welcome change and they provide  plenty to eat with bubbly staff.
7. Money: ATM located 50m from the hotel.
8. English: not many of the staff can understand English.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    50
    30
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got here after the overnight train from Beijing and were impresssed that we had the breakfast buffet to ourselves when we turned up. We had to try and reorganise our rooms as they weren't near each other as we had asked. The one thing the kids were gutted about was that the pool was out of action....we only found out after a long hot day of sightseeing. One of the reasons we had stuck with this hotel choice. Rooms were big and comfortable. Foyer very plush. Staff didn't seem to speak much English and there didn't seem to be many people staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel itself, the public areas and the rooms are very nice. The staff, even though they don't speak a lot of English, are very friendly... when you can find them, that is. We stayed here as part of a tour group and the seven of us and our tour guide were the only guests. The bar was closed, when we tried to get dinner, both restaurants were closed. When we finally found a staff member, we were told that we could order dinner, but everything we tried to order was 'out of stock'. Walking down the halls was an eery, Shining-like experience... The last morning, some of our group had left early on an add-on tour, and they had set one table in the very middle of the huge dining room for three of us.
Once again, the eery factor was not the fault of any of the staff or the hotel itself, but does make me wonder if they should keep such a large hotel open and running with such a small staff during what must have been the lowest of low season...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The rooms are massive, and our view was quite nice from our window. The shower was very powerful! and generally a nice hotel. It was very clean, although our panel for the TV channels didnt work I enjoyed our stay here. They did come round rather early for room service, so remember to flick the switch on the panel to say you dont want them coming in! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for one night in the middle on an 'On the Go' tour. The hotel was fine, large clean rooms and a decent location. The city is huge so it's taxis around but they're very cheap. There's not much in the area but if you're on a tour you don't mind so much!

Reception was very helpful, no safes in the room but they have safety boxes for free use at reception. The breakfast was average and the bar in the evening was really just an adjunct to the restaurant but you can get a beer if you ask.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

From searching on Trip Advisor, I see that there are 2 hotels in Xi'an with similar names.

This review is for the Wan Nian Hotel, aka Golden Wannian on Chang Le Zhong Road.

This was the 3rd hotel of our OnTheGo tour of China.

The hotel was very nice, and again it is primarily a business hotel (there was a refridgerator salesman conference on during our visit!).

The rooms was large and spacious, with complementary bottles of water in the room.
The hotel is close to the centre of Xi'an.

It is currently the down season (March) and we had to check if the bar was actually open (it turns out it has lights that are only on, when the sensors are activated). Once we had established the bar was open it was good value, only 10 Yuan / beer.
The bar at the top of the hotel was also closed.
As was the swimming pool!!

Breakfast was split into 2, with western and Chinese breakfasts being served in separate dining rooms. The western breakfast, was very quiet, and it is all cooked freshly for you. Being this isn't a buffet style breakfast, service is a bit slower than in other hotels, and breakfast will last at least 30 mins. Cereal and milk is on the table on arrival, and the staff then serve juice and coffee. 5- 10 mins later, the toast arrives. 5- 10 mins later still the cooked breakfast (a huge omlette, bacon and sausage) arrives. However, on the 2nd morning, no staff was evident on arrival, so we helped ourselves
to someone elses leftover toast. This resulted in us not getting any fresh toast, and no cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband as part of our honeymoon tour around China. The room itself was lovely with a kingsize bed. We were quite high up so had views across town, and the staff were accommodating. We arrived at around 10.30am after an overnight train journey from Beijing and they had extended the buffet breakfast period just for us - we weren't even expecting to get breakfast that morning!
Location-wise, I don't know how accessible it is to the old city wall and attractions as we had our own tour guide and driver. The Terracotta Army is about an hour out of the city.
In the evening we used the indoor pool - the only thing there was that we had to buy a swimming cap (it was compulsory to wear one) which cost about £1.
For dinner we stayed in the hotel restaurant. We arrived to eat quite late by Chinese standards, around 8.30 and they seemed in a hurry to get rid of us in the end as we were the last to leave, so we finished with a couple of drinks at the bar.
On the whole it served our needs.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wan Nian Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wan Nian Grand Hotel

Address: No.93 Changle Middle Road, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#178 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wan Nian Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wan Nian Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wan Nian Grand Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wan Nian Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.