We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Resort

Save Saved
You added Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Resort
No.388 Southern Yanta South Road, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here on Business. We got a corporate rate that made this a real bargain, so I am not sure of actual pricing. Being that this is pretty far from business centers, it was quite as friendly to westerners as some hotelI have stayed in. For example the interne screen was in Chinese and had no English option. The staff largely had no English at all, This is not a criticism per se. It is just something to be prepared for.

Still the staff would doggedly pursue our request, finding someone on staff who could help us and resolve any issue we had eventually. I logged 20 minutes checking out of the hotel and that was with an interpreter. Plan on that. The breakfast was very good and western friendly. The dumplings in the other restaurant for dinner were superb.

All in all it was a pleasant stay and I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the new section. Make sure that they have the A/C on for westerners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    66
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

There is two wings to the hotel and be sure to ask for the rooms in the newer wing. The lobby is very grand with marbles etc. Stayed at this hotel for a week in June for work. Had a room in the newer wing and the room is large and clean. Air-cond is working very well. Bed is comfortable if you like firm beds.

Ate breakfast every morning at the restaurant in the older wing. Good selection but more Chinese selection than Western (as expected). Service is very slow at the restaurant.

Level of English spoken is very minimal.

Very close to main attractions in Xian.10 minutes walk (from the hotel keep walking left) to the beginning of the central attraction such as Xian Art Museum, concert hall, shopping mall, movie theaters and historical sites (Pagoda - Ta Yien Tang). Lots of good restaurants in this area and would highly recommend to check them out. Also the nightly light display in this area is spectacular. The replicas of the statues, man-made fountains and ponds are amazing as well. Worth to check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms an the newer wing although it might cost a little more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor,Michigan USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Was here for business for 3 days in May 2012.
Highlights: Visually striking property, very well kept up. Large marble lobby with water arrangement in the center (difficult to describe but quite attractive. Great swimming pool. Rooms (in new side) well kept. Nice garden outside with fountains.
Concerns - these are all minor issues but worth noting. (1) Staff seemed to have difficulties charging items to my room. At the pool, restaurant, bar, and barbershop, the worker went off to an office or cashier to make room charges, delaying service. At one point I apparently had over-spent my deposit, causing the staff great concern... needed to go to cashier and add more deposit. (2) Western restaurant breakfast was fine but lunch and dinner menus were very limited. Quality was average. (3) Though being here at a busy spring tourist and conference season, the Western oriented entertainment was dead. They have a lobby bar and music bar (recorded music); not a soul was in the music bar and the lobby bar rarely had more than 1 - 2 tables occupied. (4) As was noted by other reviewers, there are few restaurants, shops, etc., in walking distance.

Room Tip: my room had a view of the garden and waterfall, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed he just one night for a business trip. Like many hotels in China, it's quite palatial at reception and slightly over stated.

The hotel has two distinct parts, an old area and a new area, so they have moved the check in area to the new part. We booked rooms in the older part as they are cheaper, but there was no problem with them. Good sized rooms, clean and well appointed.

Breakfast had a very good choice for Westerners and I was surprised at how varied a hotel like this in Xian was.

I didn't have time to try out many of the facilities but did find a snooker table and a pool table in the lower ground floor area in the new wing where the karaoke rooms are (KTV)

I would use hotel again though so it's safe enough to go ahead and book.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This was the first time staying at a Chinese hotel and it was wonderful. The staff is super helpful even though I only speak a little Chinese (the staff spoke much better American then I do Chinese). Everyone there made sure my husband (an executive for a Major US hotel brand) and I were well supplied with directions anywhere we wanted to venture. We like to hang out with locals instead of tourist when we travel so that we can really experience the area.The doormen/bell staff also spoke to the cab drivers to make sure we weren't overcharged. The rooms are beautiful with cherry trim, french milled soaps, deliciously comfortable beds and a seating area. The courtyard view was beautiful as well. The restaurant had the most incredible dishes and the staff was very professional. The prices were amazingly low but the service was top notch. We were the only Americans staying there and it was apparent by the shock when we arrived to check in that it isn't a normal occurance. The "Jazz Bar" was a nice place to relax after a late night walk after dinner, but don't expect jazz or mixed drinks. The wine is top notch, the liquor is straight with soda on the side and the beer is tall and cold. It helps to smile when you are in another country. The neighborhood is beautiful with treasures tucked here and there. Even when we spent the day doing various activities we went for evening walks because of the beauty and safety of the area. Thanks John Cena, Sally, Ann and everyone else. We'll see you again in 2011.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our family just spent two nights at the hotel as part of a tour package. The previous reviews made me look at the hotel pictures to be sure we were at the same hotel. The lobby looked nice as we entered, so we were hopeful this would be a good place to stay. The room size was adequate with comfortable beds and the bathrooms seemed clean. The carpet, however looked like it had been on the floor of a barn. It was almost black with stains. Our room smelled really smokey even though we requested a non-smoking room, and the floor had not been vacuumed (hair all over and even a toothpick under a chair) so we asked to change rooms. The front desk was very helpful in finding another room. The carpet was just as dirty in that room as in the first, as was the carpet in our friends' room.
After walking around the hotel, we wondered if it had just been recently reopened after several years of abandonment. We felt like we were walking around a ghost town. Other than the lobby and the restaurant in the atrium, the rest of the hotel seemed deserted. The pool was empty and appeared to need a lot of repair before it would be functional. The banquet room was now a storage room for stacks of broken chairs and tables. The paint was peeling from the walls and ceiling and the drapes were sun faded and damaged. We found the workout room but it looked like it was not open and the room marked "massage" appeared to be a janitor's closet now. Also, there was a sign above a door off the main lobby that said jazz bar, but we saw no indication that it was ever open. We walked around the grounds outside of the hotel, and like the inside, looked like at one time it had been nice, but now looked like it had gone a long while without maintenance.
Bottom line-rooms were fine except for the filthy carpet. No useable amenities. Location was about a mile from Great Goose Pagoda. Lots of new construction in the area so there may soon be restaurants and shops close by. Breakfast buffet was okay.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We moved in the middle of our stay in Xi'an from a hotel that was closer to our friends' home to this hotel because we wanted our daughter and her friend to be able to go swimming over the Spring Festival Holiday. We checked in late in the morning and asked about the breakfast buffet (not included in our reservation - were told 45 yuan per person and half price for our 4 year old) and asked if we were allowed to bring friends to swim. We were told that 2 guests could swim for free. We went to look at the pool and were told that it would be open from 2pm - 2am. We again asked about friends and were again told that 2 guests could come for free. That evening we invited our friends to come to swim. Unfortunately, at that time we were told that 2 HOTEL guests could swim for free - outside guests would be charged a fee of about $8 per person. BUT that didn't matter because the pool was not usable. Apparently they do not heat their indoor pool nor the room that houses it. In January, it is freezing cold. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet - which was fairly typical for hotels in China. When the waitress brought the bill it was 150 yuan - 50 yuan per person including our 4 year old who ate about 5 bites. After a lengthy argument in Chinese with 2 waitresses and a manager about what the front desk did or did not say and whether it mattered if we had been lied to or not and the manager took our daughter's meal off the bill.

The room was decent (comfy, huge bed, nice towels and bath robes - although the bathroom was quite small), and the atrium where breakfast is served and the grounds are lovely, but the dishonest customer service ruined our stay.

  • Liked — nice bed
  • Disliked — dishonest customer service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Address: No.388 Southern Yanta South Road, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Xi An
Paradise Resort China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.