We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Laodong South Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710068, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Overall an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The good: located south-west of the city wall, close to the huge Tang-style shopping complex (200m north of the hotel); a big variety of Chinese restaurants (just south of the hotel, across the street); during swarm summer days they have a nice garden with BBQ and a beer bar.

The so-so: it a hotel clearly past it's glory days, though the rooms are basic and decently clean, the corridors are dark, Internet is slow, and the staff is slow.

Overal a decent hotel though not as fancy as it pretends to be. Still a better choice than many other places.

Tip: higher floors have better rooms (fifth up)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    62
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
8
19
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two weeks at this hotel during our volunteer experience teaching English. We found it to be a very practical non luxury accommodation. The rooms had the basic necessities and were clean, but were small and dull. The beds were firm and we would have had a good sleep except that it was warm outside and they didn't put on the air conditioning. We had down covers and even with the windows open were way too hot at night. The breakfast offered many choices but it was all pretty mediocre food. The internet service was slow and iffy. I think it was really reasonable in price and so it was worth it. If you are on a tight budget this would be good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, feels very authentic chinese in the lobby. The garden inside the hotel is beautiful and peaceful.Lovely hotel and grounds, with a water garden, reception and bar area beautiful.Rooms a little dated in the bathroom but very clean.Breakfast and meals good selection
The area surrounding the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Earn, Perth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here as part of our "Highlights of China tour" with Travesphere.

Apart from the entrance and reception areas the rest is in need of refubishment and upgrading - definitely not 4 star in fact only 2 star in places.

Shower difficult to get a constant stream of water the same temperature.

Bed firm as most beds are in China but at least sheets etc very clean.

Breakfast buffet style but only colud find cold plates - food good variety but only just warm.

Stafff pleasant and helpful but few speak English

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights here on a group tour of China.
The first room we were allocated was down a long, dark corridor. It smelt mouldy and damp so we had no high hopes of the room itself and were proved right. It was awful. There were large cracks in most of the walls. Someone had attempted to plaster over a few of them and had made a real bodge of it. Many of the bathroom tiles were broken and plaster smeared on them in an attempt to cover up the mess. The lighting looked very dodgy with wires hanging out everywhere.
We complained and were quickly moved to another room. This was better but still not wonderful with the usual smell of stale smoke. There were large notices in the room warning us not to smoke but the hotel had kindly provided us with a number of ashtrays and books of matches should we want to do so (we didn't!).
We were later told that the first room was in part of the hotel that was being refurbished. If this was the case, why were we put there in the first place?
Not recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

as usual the lobby looks better than rooms which need to be refurbished. anyway the quality level is acceptable and breakfast is good if you like chinese cuisine. Rooms are large enough. at the end we spent there only one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were here as part of a group, and only a couple of nights, so I cannot comment on the location as did not get chance to explore. However, the hotel was very good, the room had a faint smell of smoke, but as I have stated before no smoking seems to be more of a suggestion in china rather than a rule. The room was clean, and had all the normal facilities, kettle, tea, toothbrush, slippers, even a comb. The hotel itself was nice and bright, lifts were good and all working - bonus. We only had breakfast here, but it was very good, lots of choice and had treats like French toast, pancakes which were a welcome change to rice.

We did use the wifi in the reception area, worked fine. Also, treated ourselves to a cocktail both nights, 1st night was excellent well made, 2nd night we had a trainee which was more challenging, but I guess you have to learn.

We had a problem with the plug in the bath getting stuck, but a quick call to reception and they had that sorted straight away.

The garden is the real treat, make sure you take a wonder out though the hotel to see it, esp at night. It was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out both nights enjoying the cocktails and the smell of the BBQ which you could get outside.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Garden Hotel

Address: No.8 Laodong South Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710068, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#118 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Garden Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Le Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Garden Xi An
Hotel Le Garden
Le Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.