We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Le Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Laodong South Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710068, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 2,169 Hotels in Xi'an
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Overall an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The good: located south-west of the city wall, close to the huge Tang-style shopping complex (200m north of the hotel); a big variety of Chinese restaurants (just south of the hotel, across the street); during swarm summer days they have a nice garden with BBQ and a beer bar.

The so-so: it a hotel clearly past it's glory days, though the rooms are basic and decently clean, the corridors are dark, Internet is slow, and the staff is slow.

Overal a decent hotel though not as fancy as it pretends to be. Still a better choice than many other places.

Tip: higher floors have better rooms (fifth up)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    71
    34
    14
    8
See reviews for
8
23
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two weeks at this hotel during our volunteer experience teaching English. We found it to be a very practical non luxury accommodation. The rooms had the basic necessities and were clean, but were small and dull. The beds were firm and we would have had a good sleep except that it was warm outside and they didn't put on the air conditioning. We had down covers and even with the windows open were way too hot at night. The breakfast offered many choices but it was all pretty mediocre food. The internet service was slow and iffy. I think it was really reasonable in price and so it was worth it. If you are on a tight budget this would be good choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, feels very authentic chinese in the lobby. The garden inside the hotel is beautiful and peaceful.Lovely hotel and grounds, with a water garden, reception and bar area beautiful.Rooms a little dated in the bathroom but very clean.Breakfast and meals good selection
The area surrounding the hotel is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Earn, Perth
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here as part of our "Highlights of China tour" with Travesphere.

Apart from the entrance and reception areas the rest is in need of refubishment and upgrading - definitely not 4 star in fact only 2 star in places.

Shower difficult to get a constant stream of water the same temperature.

Bed firm as most beds are in China but at least sheets etc very clean.

Breakfast buffet style but only colud find cold plates - food good variety but only just warm.

Stafff pleasant and helpful but few speak English

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights here on a group tour of China.
The first room we were allocated was down a long, dark corridor. It smelt mouldy and damp so we had no high hopes of the room itself and were proved right. It was awful. There were large cracks in most of the walls. Someone had attempted to plaster over a few of them and had made a real bodge of it. Many of the bathroom tiles were broken and plaster smeared on them in an attempt to cover up the mess. The lighting looked very dodgy with wires hanging out everywhere.
We complained and were quickly moved to another room. This was better but still not wonderful with the usual smell of stale smoke. There were large notices in the room warning us not to smoke but the hotel had kindly provided us with a number of ashtrays and books of matches should we want to do so (we didn't!).
We were later told that the first room was in part of the hotel that was being refurbished. If this was the case, why were we put there in the first place?
Not recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

as usual the lobby looks better than rooms which need to be refurbished. anyway the quality level is acceptable and breakfast is good if you like chinese cuisine. Rooms are large enough. at the end we spent there only one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were here as part of a group, and only a couple of nights, so I cannot comment on the location as did not get chance to explore. However, the hotel was very good, the room had a faint smell of smoke, but as I have stated before no smoking seems to be more of a suggestion in china rather than a rule. The room was clean, and had all the normal facilities, kettle, tea, toothbrush, slippers, even a comb. The hotel itself was nice and bright, lifts were good and all working - bonus. We only had breakfast here, but it was very good, lots of choice and had treats like French toast, pancakes which were a welcome change to rice.

We did use the wifi in the reception area, worked fine. Also, treated ourselves to a cocktail both nights, 1st night was excellent well made, 2nd night we had a trainee which was more challenging, but I guess you have to learn.

We had a problem with the plug in the bath getting stuck, but a quick call to reception and they had that sorted straight away.

The garden is the real treat, make sure you take a wonder out though the hotel to see it, esp at night. It was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out both nights enjoying the cocktails and the smell of the BBQ which you could get outside.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
1.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel
#8 of 2,169 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
2.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#98 of 2,169 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#28 of 2,169 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.2 mi away
Tang Dynasty West Market Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Garden Hotel

Address: No.8 Laodong South Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710068, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#98 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Garden Xi An
Hotel Le Garden
Le Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.