We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel lacking in English speaking staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian to your Saves list
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 North Yanta Road, Xi'an 710054, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 2,156 Hotels in Xi'an
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel lacking in English speaking staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is pretty good with all the features an international hotel should have. The entrance lobby and reception is pleasant and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, clean, beds very comfy. The adjustable lighting ambience was unique( with dimmer) unlike other places I have stayed, where you have the option of just switching ON or OFF the lights-you cannot adjust the light intensity.

The complimentary buffet breakfast was nice with many options. The bar and restaurent on the ground floor near entrance is very good. The TV in the room mostly had local channels, a couple of English channels and a few channels dubbed in Chinese. You can opt for pay per view channels which screen adult clippings....!!

The biggest drawback is the communication. There are only two among the staff who understood English and were able to respond. They can do with a few english speaking(fluent) support staff and at least one at the reception to increase international tourists footfall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are noisier due to proximity of the roads. Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa-shi, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

As were all the hotels on our trip, they had us in a room with 2 beds instead of one, so they upgraded us to a king suite for free. The front desk staff were nice, the lobby was clean. The breakfast buffet was nice, but not the best we have had on this 3 week trip. They had canned fruit instead of fresh fruit. But overall, it was okay. The room was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The architect has done a great job. To me it ranks among the best-designed hotels in China, with regards in particular to rooms. The execution of "the plan" is however a bit disappointing. Worn out or cheap details in the room, wardrobe doors not sliding well, defects in corners or pannels-joints are here and there visible. It makes it "old China", meaning with this espression "China before the economical boom".
Room: large, designed with fantasy, with fine high and painted ceiling, good air conditioner system. Not at all sound proof (another cheap-thing indicator). Fine, large, well enlighted bathrooms (I tried 2 different rooms, both with fine baths).
Food: two options, both fine. Fusion Buffet on the 3rd floor is a safe option for westerns desiring a break from chinese kitchen.
I interacted with the management and had a positive impression of their professionality. Furthermore, my request to change room was positively accepted. (The reason of changinf was the lound noise untl 4am of a closeby karaoke).
Cleanness was not spotless, in the sense that you may not find it dirty, but few things like the room desk and the items on it have not dust upon them, but still feel dirty at touch.
Swimming pool particularly nice, with nice gym area. The water didn't seem particularly transparent, though...Service in spa area is careful.
Overall: I could come back because the overall experience was good. It's not a perfect place, despite the grandeur of architecture aimed to top standards.
Not all the staff is fluent in English, but kindness and will to help were visible in all departments -actually, if I'll be back it will be mostly because of the service from personnel and management.

Room Tip: Looking at the entrance, skip rooms facing the right side of the building: very noisy due to a karao...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel for a conference in Xi'an. Hotel was great - rooms were clean, plenty of amenities in the rooms (shampoo, toothbrush/toothpaste, cotton swabs, shaving kit, lotion, etc.), bath towels and wash cloths replaced daily, even though I didn't ask them to be, flat screen TV (had a couple of English channels, but not many...did have HBO), wired internet that was fairly fast, complimentary bottled water and a safe. My only complaint is that the beds are rock hard and pretty uncomfortable. Breakfast in the Atrium Cafe was very nice - lots of options, fresh fruit, fried eggs cooked to order, and the staff were very friendly. Most of the staff do not speak great English, which was to be expected, but some did and were extremely friendly and helpful. Many reviewers have mentioned that this hotel is directly across the street from Wal-Mart, which is true, but many did not mention that the Wal-Mart is also in a mall. There is a 3-story mall across the street...the 3rd floor is actually nothing but local restaurants, which was very cool! We also were able to take the hotel car for a tour of the city (for much cheaper than the Xi'an organized tours cost), including the Terra Cotta Warrios, Banpo Museum and the City Wall. I wasn't much a fan of the Banpo Museum...but it sounds like they would be flexible if you wanted them to take you to some other things in the city (I wish I would've asked to see the Wild Goose Pagoda instead of the museum). The driver did not speak English, but here was very friendly and politely opened the door for me every time we got in and out of the car. They will exchange up to $100USD per guest, per day, and there is also a cash machine in the front lobby where you can withdraw yen from. Overall I had a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here after moving out of the Xi'An Hotel and did not set our expectations too high after that disaster of a hotel. However, we were not only pleasantly surprised but we were bowled over by this hotel! The bellmen were efficient, courteous and were very quick to bring up our luggage, then apologized for taking so long.

The rooms were very pleasantly decorated and the beds were typical of China, solid but not rock, concrete hard. The bathrooms were very beautiful and the scenes from the 24th floor at night were amazing!

The only complaint I had was we couldn't figure out the a/c but we just opened a window and it was fine. They do have fans downstairs tha they'll bring up if you want them but it was so pleasant outside we didn't bother.

The Atrium cafe on the 3rd floor has a great dinner selection and the most wonderful breakfast buffet.

2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view and don't get one facing the street or you'll hear the horns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Wonderful hotel I had room on 23 floor with views across the city - not a room more a suite and every room has huge bed great bathroom and a desk with wifi connector plus a couple of settees and a coffee table. Robes slippers and all the bathroom needs shampoo conditioner etc. Suggest bringing own coffee if u don't like nescafe with whitener and sugar (all in one satchet). Breakfast choice huge there was bacon ham, beans and fried eggs (latter at cook to order) I ignored all the black eggs etc but they have a wide range of chinese delicacies too! There was toast croissants Danish pastries and fruit and good coffee so no problems there. We did have a meal in the restaurant - buffet style and no one starved.

Room Tip: there were a lot of weddings at every hotel we stayed at. I suggest higher floors would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in April 2011 as part of a tour of China.

The hotel is very clean and tidy. The breakfast was fantastic, a good selection of bread/toast, cereal, bacon etc. and there is a great omelet/egg station which cooks your order to perfection. The room was spacious and quiet.

My only complaint was the rock hard bed, not just firm but like a board. I think the carpeted floor was softer. We made do by getting extra quilts and blankets to put on the mattress which helped.

We did have one problem when the hotel tried to make us pay for an ice bucket liner which was cracked from old age not abuse. When I argued with the manager and stood my ground they took the charge off.

There is a Walmart across the street.
Would I stay here again? YES

Room Tip: ask for extra bedding if you want a softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Address: No.15 North Yanta Road, Xi'an 710054, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#55 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianyu Gloria Plaza Xi An
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.