We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money, not good location unless Walmart is important” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Save Saved
You added Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 North Yanta Road, Xi'an 710054, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Tampa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not worth the money, not good location unless Walmart is important”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

no WIFI
no English
NO BREAKFAST EVEN THOUGH I BELIEVED IT WAS INCLUDED!!!
Location is not inside city walls or close to them!
Booked tour through them... which was less then adaquate (although I don't hold the hotel responsible for that) Guide had poor english, poor knowlegde, and didn't even think to suggest bathroom breaks during a 10 hour day? But Terra Cotta Warriors ARE WORTH SEEING!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
11
18
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a tour group for about 3 nights and we found this hotel to be nice, clean, have decent facilities and near the Lido Theatre where we had a chance to watch Tang Dynasty Show. It's a big hotel with 27 floors. The location is 10 minutes from Shaanxi Museum and 15 minutes drive from Big Goose Pagoda.

We stayed at Room #1327. Rooms are spacious and have adequate amenities, incl. hot water, kettle, weight scale, iron, complimentary bottled water and safe deposit box. Hotel have several restaurants inside, a spa, indoor swimming pool, a quite decent gym and a shopping mall across the street with Walmart inside. Staff are efficient although speak very little (or can I say almost nothing) English, as expected. Room is clean, bright and fresh. Mattress is slightly hard but still okay compared to other hotels we stayed during our China trip.

Breakfast at Atrium Cafe is good, it has decent varieties and good taste.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel was centrally located (and across from a convenient Walmart) but that was where the positives ended. The rooms reeked of both smoke and mildew and opening the window did nothing to help air it out. Front desk staff couldn't be bothered to help half the time and the lobby reeked of cigarettes as well. Breakfast was decent, with a fairly large selection, but not enough seating availability. Truthfully, the whole place felt a bit dingy and has clearly seen better days.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel staff speaks minimal English. If you can read a map and don't mind medium distances to walk to sites, this is a good location. Neighborhood was safe and convenient. All taxi drivers know the name of the hotel (but only in chinese so before you arrive get your hotel's name written for you in Chinese characters and pinyin if you know how to pronounce it). The room was old and that is in respect to the age of carpet, bathroom, and linens. Probably was cleaner than we could tell but the dinginess made it look a bit dirty. Beds are typical Chinese- hard, but after a long hot day of sight-seeing it didn't matter. I would recommend the hotel to friends and explain our experience, but I don't think they'd opt for this hotel after hearing our opinion with so many others to choose from. Last thing, we couldn't get our refund back for the room deposit for almost 2-3 months. We had to have a coworker call for us and were in the midst of a claim with our credit card company to fix this when they finally got it together.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Last week I travelled to Xian for an office trip. Since our business agent had been to Xian many times, he suggested us to stay at this hotel.

Since we booked our rooms through an internet site located out of Hong Kong, we got pretty good discounts.

The hotel is excellently located at about 1 hour drive from the airport. Rooms are neat & clean and you have prompt rooms service. It has a normal restaurant as well as a Chinese restaurant located on separate floors. Swimming pool, entertainment centre, business centre, gift shop, & book shop are all located within the towering structure itself.

Bang opposite to the hotel are located a shopping mall, international cinema theatre etc.

It has been a nice experience for me & I would like to stay again at the same place if I happen to visit Xian in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in total. First impression was good, great looking hotel, big impressive lobby. Check in staff were very friendly and had a good level of English. We had booked a larger room as we wanted a second bed for the little one. Problem number 1! we were informed that there would be a 150 yuan charge per night for this, we politely turned it down and decided the bed was big enough for the little one to sleep with us. Problem 2. Although we booked a plaza room this only included 1 breakfast and there was a 50 yuan charge for the second adult, reception also said there was a 25 yuan charge for our son (not quite 3!) although we were never charged this so I cant really say that this was ludicrous!
The room was quite big, nice big bed, 2 x small sofas and a desk with free internet access. No wireless, not sure about other areas in the hotel. Bathroom was a bit on the small side but well fitted out. Over the bath shower was good without being great.
Breakfast was actually quite good (apart from the charging previously mentioned) a good selection of food, a few cereals and even cold milk! staff were very friendly and always on hand. Fried eggs available or noodles if you want a more chinese option. Different breads also which was nice.
Problem 3. While we stayed there the temperature in Xian was warm, every day t shirt weather which was fantastic. The first night we didnt think much about it but the room was hot so the second day we set the air conditioning lower. No change when we got back later, room was about 25C. On reporting this to reception they told us the aircndition was switched off because it was going to get colder and we could have a fan. Fortunately through my Chinese wife I explained this wasnt acceptable. After some discussion we were moved to another room, a smaller one but it had an opening window. They also then gave us the second breakfast for free as compensation. A nice gesture but looking at other reviews of the hotel im guessing theres a bigger problem.
Location of the hotel is good although its a taxi ride to the bell tower or other attractions, there is a shopping mall over the road with a good selection of shops, some expensive but there were some bargains if you looked. Also there is a Wal Mart whick was great for getting a few cans of beer or picking up some stacks at reasonable prices. The selection of places to eat is good as well.
Be wary of the travel desk, we enquired about booking a tour to the terracotta army and were offered the alternative of a car driver for the day. This was cheaper than the total tour price but when the driver arrived the car was not as good as "promised" although the driver was ok he wanted to push other things which he obviously made money from eg taking you to certain shops, diverting to other places for more money etc. We also had an argument over what exactly the deal was as he said the agent had not told him he had to drive a friend of ours to the airport as well, my advice would be to pre book your tours/driver and not via the hotel tour desk. Or use the concierge as they arranged a car to the airport for a reasonable price and a decent car.
I sumwhat agree with other comments about getting taxis in Xian. On arrival we had 5 cabs stop and refuse to take us because of our the luggage. There are lots of customers and the drivers can pick and choose, this is not a great experience when travelling with a 2 year old though. Other days we had better luck, main tip I would have is make sure you have everything ready to get into the cab. We always made sure the push chair was folded and therefore we could get in the cab quick.
Overall I would recommend the hotel although I would probably look around on tripadvisor more. The price was certainly good but let down by the things mentioned, an over hot room is a show stopper for me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian

Address: No.15 North Yanta Road, Xi'an 710054, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#64 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianyu Gloria Plaza Xi An
Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tianyu Gloria Grand Hotel Xian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.