We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from Chinese food for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Tex-Mex

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peter's Tex-Mex
No. 64 Cade Plaza, 4th Floor, No. 18 | Yanta District, western section of the Second Ring Road, Xi'an, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice change from Chinese food for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good family friendly western fester aunt that we have visited a few times when we are sick of Chinese food. I love the chimichangas. And the fajitas are good too. It's a bit on the expensive side compared to Chinese food but it's pretty average priced for western food. There's a kid play area which we also appreciate! The mall is also worth shopping at - it has Gap, Vanguard, Uniqlo...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln NE
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex food in bright mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Every once in awhile, this Spanish speaker craved real Mexican food. Low expectations, but I was surprised! They had great fajitas, good guacamole and excellent enchiladas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly not disappointing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

First of all, for those of you who aren't Chinese mailmen, it's located on the fourth floor of a shopping mall that says (not called) Vanguard on the outside.

The atmosphere doesn't have the usual pep that comes with Tex Mex, but is rather kind of dull. I guess synthesizers and pan flutes playing church music constitutes as Texan? So needless to say, I wasn't expecting much. I was expecting to pay too much for mediocre food like you would at other try-hard Western restaurants here. BUT the first bite into my chimichanga caught me off guard by how Western tasting it was and I couldn't find fault with it. The frozen margarita was right there with the food on being at or above Western standards.

The thing that didn't surprise me is the "Oh ships, I forgot rice and beans aren't included" feeling I had when the food came out. I paid 100yuan ($17ish) for the two things and just barely felt it was enough. So don't take Tex Mex's value and generosity for granted.

In short, this place could probably keep it's doors open if it moved to America but it wouldn't be the talk of the town (unless the town was in North Dakota).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to review when half of the menu isn't available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

"I'll have this, please"
"Sorry, no have"
"OK, I'll try this instead."
"Buhaoyise, no have"
"OK... Do you have this?"
"So sorry. Ha ha ha."
...
If you're not accustomed to Chinese culture, this is maddening. They don't have or can't make half of what's on the very extensive menu, and they don't have sour cream to serve with anything they do have. The food that they do have is very good, but ordering is a long and haphazard process.
They do have A&W rootbeer and Dr. Pepper, so it's worth going just for that! The milkshakes are good, too. I have to praise the waitresses for being so friendly when the kitchen is obviously so lazy and incapable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good alternative to Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Folks don't usually come to Xi'an to eat non-Chinese food but should you find yourself a bit tired of local fare then this place is for you. The portions are good sized, cheapest steak and eggs in the city, and the staff are really friendly and helpful and most importantly the consistency is always the same no matter what day of the week or time you go. On a side note I agree with Leevonb - the Indian next door is probably the worst non-Chinese food in the city...not quite sure why anyone would suggest it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Tex-Mex also viewed

 

Been to Peter's Tex-Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Tex-Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.