We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So yummy & cheap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Restaurant (East Street)

Xian Restaurant (East Street)
Beilin District Dongdajie 298, Xi'an, China
029-86538688
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,519 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: NorthWestern Chinese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“So yummy & cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The dining hall is huge & simple. Place was packed & noisy. The menu was in Chinese but fortunately had pictures to help us decide. Every dish we had was tasty & delicious. the lamb rack, salt pepper chicken & small fried fish was perfectly cooked, it was tender & so well marinated.. Stir fried veg was ok. The bun with shredded pork was tasty but bun could have been thinner. We were pleasantly surprised when the bill came for four including 4 bottles of beer was only RMB370!! Real value for money that for four of us!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not touristy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Not touristy, this is what makes the restaurant so good. Great food, many options. Menu only in Chinese but we were surprised to find some of the waitresses speak English and understand what you want easier than the ones in many of the restaurants in Beijing. Easy to find.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Tasty food, popular with locals. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Picture menu with chinese only. If you dont have anyone in your group that speaks chinese, just go with whatever looks good, everything we've tried here has been tasty. If you can't decide, tell your waitress what you like and ask for recommendations. We do this all over the place, and results are generally good.

A bit more pricey that some other places nearby, but still very reasonable for this quality of food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided to give this restaurant a try as it was close to our hostel and had such good reviews. It's on the 2nd floor of Xian Hotel. The place was packed with locals & we had to wait for a table for 4.

They had a picture menu but NO english & NO english speaking staff. So we took a chance & just ordered what we thought looked good. The food turned out to be delicious! We tried 3 types of noodles that came in tiny little bowls. My 9 year old loved the soupy one so much he had 4 bowls! We also ordered the roast chicken, the little stuffed buns and a stir fried vege.

Although we couldnt communicate well with the staff, they were very helpful.

While we enjoyed the food at this restaurant, we loved the street food (which is plentiful especially at the muslim quarter) just as much & for a fraction of the costs. Having said that, prices were reasonable for an upmarket restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice Xi'an Local Chinese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had dinner in the East Street one as well as the Fenghao East Road one. The cuisine menu and food quality are basically the same, hence I mixed the 2 dinners in this review.

First talk about the East Street. The restaurant is decorated and atmosphered in typical Chinese style of upper class, bright and clean. Out of the various dishes we tried, I love the "three freshes in soup" and the "rou jia mo".

As the taste was so good, we went to the Fenghao East Road one for dinner 2 days later and tried other dishes. The decoration and atmosphere are similar to the East Street one but looks a bit newer. There was no disappointment as the dishes are equally delicious. Out of the dishes we tried this time, I love the "feng wei lamb chop" and "broccoli coin fa cai", see photos attached.

In fact all dishes we tried were tasteful. It is the best restaurant we visited in Xi'an throughout the 6 days holiday. Highly recommended for local Chinese cuisine. Cost is about RMB 60 to 120 per person, not counting drinks. Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xian Restaurant (East Street) also viewed

 

Been to Xian Restaurant (East Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Restaurant (East Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.