We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Restaurant (East Street)

Xian Restaurant (East Street)
Beilin District Dongdajie 298, Xi'an, China
029-86538688
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,612 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: NorthWestern Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided to give this restaurant a try as it was close to our hostel and had such good reviews. It's on the 2nd floor of Xian Hotel. The place was packed with locals & we had to wait for a table for 4.

They had a picture menu but NO english & NO english speaking staff. So we took a chance & just ordered what we thought looked good. The food turned out to be delicious! We tried 3 types of noodles that came in tiny little bowls. My 9 year old loved the soupy one so much he had 4 bowls! We also ordered the roast chicken, the little stuffed buns and a stir fried vege.

Although we couldnt communicate well with the staff, they were very helpful.

While we enjoyed the food at this restaurant, we loved the street food (which is plentiful especially at the muslim quarter) just as much & for a fraction of the costs. Having said that, prices were reasonable for an upmarket restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice Xi'an Local Chinese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had dinner in the East Street one as well as the Fenghao East Road one. The cuisine menu and food quality are basically the same, hence I mixed the 2 dinners in this review.

First talk about the East Street. The restaurant is decorated and atmosphered in typical Chinese style of upper class, bright and clean. Out of the various dishes we tried, I love the "three freshes in soup" and the "rou jia mo".

As the taste was so good, we went to the Fenghao East Road one for dinner 2 days later and tried other dishes. The decoration and atmosphere are similar to the East Street one but looks a bit newer. There was no disappointment as the dishes are equally delicious. Out of the dishes we tried this time, I love the "feng wei lamb chop" and "broccoli coin fa cai", see photos attached.

In fact all dishes we tried were tasteful. It is the best restaurant we visited in Xi'an throughout the 6 days holiday. Highly recommended for local Chinese cuisine. Cost is about RMB 60 to 120 per person, not counting drinks. Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tasty food among local Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Xi'an. We speak no Chinese and were the only Westerners in the room. It appeared to be mainly populated by locals on their way home from work, judging by the abundance of business attire and briefcases. There is a picture menu and, fortunately, there was a manager on duty with a working knowledge of restaurant English. We initially tried to order just by pointing to menu items but encountered problems with our non-English speaking waitress who kept shaking her head. She brought over the manager, who explained that they were sold out of the items we were requesting. We asked him to recommend some dishes and he did, explaining each to us. Food was delicious and we tried things we might not have if we'd not put ourselves into the hands of the manager. Price was very reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We, including the kids, very much liked the food at this restaurant especially the gourd shaped chicken (slow roasted chicken in spices which was deliciious), the shaanxi fried dumplings, and all the other dishes we ate. Highly recommend and we would go back again when we go back to Xian. Menu has pictures in it. No English.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Typical and nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is the second time I eat there in the last 3 years and it is still a popular and very tasty restaurant. Menu only in Chinese - with pictures.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xian Restaurant (East Street) also viewed

 

Been to Xian Restaurant (East Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Restaurant (East Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.