We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you are tired of Chinese and asiatic cuisine you must try this restaurant. The food was delicious and the service great! Try to book before so you dont take the risk of not having table.
The price is ok and the location a bit difficult to find, its inside a building.
Try the salmon with potatoes and mushroom, so delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I went for pizza. It was so good. We had the margarita pizza and a few glasses of house red wine. Also tried the sautéed mushrooms as an appetizer and tiramisu for dessert. Everything was delicious. I highly recommend if you are tired of Chinese food and need a break, this place is just right.

Only negative is this place is hard to find. My wife is Chinese and that's the only reason we finally got there, she had to ask several people on the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fed up with eating Chinese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was a nice change and we wanted something other than Chinese food. Thanks to the reviews of TA members, we decided to try this place.

It is not easy to find and as we discovered, there are many restaurants in China that are actually located inside office blocks. The taxi driver pointed in the direction of the restaurant but we still could not find it. We approached a security guard next to the building and he pointed us in the right direction, The building does not directly face the street but is located behind the first lot of buildings that face the main road. Very difficult to explain its whereabouts and we didn't get the chance to get a landmark to give directions to TA members. Sorry........ Think it was located next to North Street (?). But it is very close to the Bell Tower and along the main road past the Sofitel heading in the direction of the Bell Tower, just past the traffic lights (turn left and you will get to the Tower) . When you come out of the lift on the 11th floor turn right, sign on door saying Isola. If not for the English speaking security guard, we wouldn't have found it.

It was very busy when we arrived and we didn't have a reservation. Lucky that we could get a table for 2. The hostess was friendly and welcoming. They have a selection of drinks and we finally got a decent beer that wasn't Chinese. Happy husband.............!!! The mohitos were drinkable but had too much sugar, about 45 CNY. Glass of Italian red house wine was light and 45 CNY. There was a rack with a selection of wines which were very expensive.

We both ordered Bruschetta for entrée which was a generous serve of baby grape tomatoes served on 2 slices of toasted bread, very tasty but there wasn't enough basil. One serve would have been enough for 2 to share. A good menu selection of entrees and mains. We ordered mains of spaghetti bolognese and lasagne. The spaghetti was rather bland and we asked for more parmesan to give it a bit more taste. The lasagne was served in a small pyrex dish and it was really filling, not a lot of flavour but okay and had to ask for black pepper to spice it up.
We were given beautiful hot bread to start with and some breadsticks, before our Bruschetta arrived.

The service was quick and the prices were reasonable. Because they were very busy it was hard to attract their attention. Wait staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. It might be best to ask the wait staff for a recommendation of the most popular dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuxi, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

There's no need for me to write directions as other reviewers have already given them.

The food is very good and the pasta was delicious. A bit disappointed with the pizza base as it was more like a thin pancake.

One thing to note that hasn't been mentioned before. They close at 3pm and reopen at 5pm however, at 2:30 the waiters come round and ask for 'last orders'. So I would get to the restaurant before 2:30 so you don't feel rushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Outsanding italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Italian food here was really really surprisingly good. Xi'an is a pretty grey place with touches of Westernisation, and the usual chain shops, but you don't really expect anything amazing there.

This restaurant was buried round the back of a grey block, up an elevator. But when you walk inside you immediately feel a sense of warmth from the place.

We love the quality of the Italian food here. The pizza I had was really first rate with an amazing thin, wood fired crust. We also enjoyed the 'wine buffet' where you paid a set price and could drink as much wine as you wanted! Great value for China!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.