We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky there's no competition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,597 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lucky there's no competition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've been coming to Xi'an for 2 months/year for about 6 years now. Colabo used to be one of the best restaurants in the city, but that was when there was little competition. The food and dining room are average (great for Western food in Xi'an). The service is friendly, but inflexible and lazy. At my last visit, my friend and I ordered the exact same pasta at the same time. The two orders arrived 30 minutes apart. Maybe it's their strategy - I ended up eating extra bread while I waited, which they charged me for. I tried to change my order to something faster, but they told me it was impossible. My friend was Chinese and very proud to be taking me there, so I didn't want him to lose face by cancelling my order and complaining. Otherwise, there's no way I would have waited so long for 200g of pasta.
This restaurant would not survive amid experienced, professional competition.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's good because there's little else...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been to Colabo a few times while in Xi'an as I visit here regularly due to business. It's standard Italian fare but can be hit and miss. Some pizzas are good some are just covered in ingredients and cheesed to death. Food a tad over priced I feel. Caesar salad really is terrible and don't ask for any variations to any dish as you are likely to get a "No" as a response. The chocolate pudding desert is great though. Portions seem to keep getting smaller. Décor is very basic. However, it's still the best Italian food in Xi'an, so there you have it...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have heard about this restaurant when asking for western food (after 10 days of Chinese food non-stop, a break is always well appreciated).
The location is a bit strange, as it is in an office building. But once inside, you forget about how you came in.
Fuwuyuan are very welcoming.
My friend and I shared a carpaccio as a starter, delicious! Then she went for a pizza while I tried the salmon. The pizza was perfect, while my salmon was good, but nothing really special.
Panacotta as a dessert was a good choice. We haven't tried any other.

Price is very fair, considering the quality of the food.
Recommendation: go for the classic pizza, you won't be disappointed! ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath NSW
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Italian Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at Colabo with some scepticism. Would it live up to our expectations or would it be like the pseudo French place down the road, serving abalone and with a massive photo of the Eiffel Tower the only sign of France that we could see.

From the moment we sat down in Colabo we were impressed by the enthusiasm, friendliness and efficiency of all the staff. They had been extremely well trained. The food was excellent and portions generous, though as non-Italians we wouldn't presume to say it was authentic. We'll leave that up to Italian natives but to our taste it was brilliant!

The restaurant filled up rapidly and it was encouraging to see that the numbers of staff increased proportionately. All through the evening we were well looked after and had a marvellous time.

Other reviewers are right ... if you're looking for Western food for a change, Colabo is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

we were a bit tired of Chinese food, so chose this restaurant instead. It was a bit hard to find, but totally worth the long walk and wait. It's not cheap, but not expensive either for that quality. Wine was surprisingly good also. All in all, good experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.