We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why eat Italian in china?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,608 restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Why eat Italian in china?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Well I guess us westerners need comfort food when we are traveling. There isd only so much Szechaun spice youj can tolerate before you need something blander. Not to say that the food here is bland - far from it. A good meal, good value and excellent service all at a reasonable price (1000 rmb for 4 people, 3 courses plus wine and beers). More expensive than eating local cuisine but that's only to be expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    19
    27
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Good Italian food, very recommendable in Xian! All dishes good quality, friendly service.....................................

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is one of the best Italian dining experience I've had in China. We had two of the starter salads, the mozzerella and tomato pesto salad and the roasted vegetable salad. Both were truly excellent. We also split a small salami and mushroom pizza. The crust was thin, crunchy, and chewy, and the pizza sauce was tangy without overwhelming the other ingredients. I will definitely go again the next time I am in Xi'An. The house red wine was forgettable - it is better to order a branded red wine. The desserts looked really good, particularly the tiramisu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good for homesick travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food is very good and not that kind of fake western favour. While people can't have much expectations for Italian food in China, this restaurant can still fulfill standard, just like parma ham with fruit, I am pretty sure that's hard to find elsewhere in China, while Xi'an even very inner mainland, or else that will be 5 star hotel cost. This restaurant provide good taste with reasonable price.

Wifi avaliable. Location not easy to find, but worthy to browse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Colabo Restaurant Xi'an”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a well known restaurant for those in the know. However its location on the 11th floor of a non-descript office building just off North Street is difficult to find, and they certainly don't have passing trade. On our last meal there 75% of the customers were westerners.
Ambience ok , Service ok but they do sometimes take a long time serving drinks, food ok, my wife's pork steak was massive and very tasty. My friends steak was cooked well and presented well. However the base of my pizza was undercooked and a little doughy. Disappointingly the Caesar salad had dried grated parmesan cheese which bears no resemblance to a decent parmesan cheese and the lettuce had been through some type of grinder!!!.(not crisp at all)
When we asked for a second bottle of wine we were told they had run out - oh....
Cost well, by international standards cheapish, but you can eat much better elsewhere for less than half the cost of the Colabo. But we will go again in the future so perhaps I just expect too much for my hard earned cash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.