We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for homesick travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,615 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good for homesick travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food is very good and not that kind of fake western favour. While people can't have much expectations for Italian food in China, this restaurant can still fulfill standard, just like parma ham with fruit, I am pretty sure that's hard to find elsewhere in China, while Xi'an even very inner mainland, or else that will be 5 star hotel cost. This restaurant provide good taste with reasonable price.

Wifi avaliable. Location not easy to find, but worthy to browse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Colabo Restaurant Xi'an”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a well known restaurant for those in the know. However its location on the 11th floor of a non-descript office building just off North Street is difficult to find, and they certainly don't have passing trade. On our last meal there 75% of the customers were westerners.
Ambience ok , Service ok but they do sometimes take a long time serving drinks, food ok, my wife's pork steak was massive and very tasty. My friends steak was cooked well and presented well. However the base of my pizza was undercooked and a little doughy. Disappointingly the Caesar salad had dried grated parmesan cheese which bears no resemblance to a decent parmesan cheese and the lettuce had been through some type of grinder!!!.(not crisp at all)
When we asked for a second bottle of wine we were told they had run out - oh....
Cost well, by international standards cheapish, but you can eat much better elsewhere for less than half the cost of the Colabo. But we will go again in the future so perhaps I just expect too much for my hard earned cash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, unusual setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Located inside an office building and not easy to find. The food was worth the effort. We had steak and pasta and salad, very good quality of food and wine. Service was good. Would go back

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Worth the search!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not easy to find and up on the 11th floor. However, when you find it you will be pleased you made the effort. Lovely atmosphere created in a small space. Good service and a very acceptable Italian menu. It has the feel of a family run business but it does have five other restaurants scattered around China. Freshly prepared food and drinks at a reasonable price. Try it !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“average italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After living in China for a few years it is nice to see what the "good" western food is like and this time I have to say it was average. Overall we had the option of going back and chose not too as it really was not that special. If you are on holiday and need a western hit then ok maybe but there are good places in the other western hotels like the sofitel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.