We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you like western food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 1,601 restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must if you like western food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've been there 5 times and have never been disappointed by the quality of the food and the service. It is a bit tricky finding because it seems to be located in an office building, but it is worth the effort.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    16
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We keep returning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My eight year old daughter and I constantly return to Colabo. It has super delicious food, and when we are needing a 'taste of home', we go to Colabo. The menu is varied, and caters for most tastes. The wine list is excellent and the waiting staff all speak good English so it is easy to converse with everyone. They have set the standard in Xi'an, and we rate everything against Colabo as we love it so much. Well done, Colabo. The expat community thanks you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The restaurant is located inside the city wall in the ICBC building. As one reviewer wrote, it is strange to go through a parking lot to the building entrance. Upon reaching the 11th floor you have to pass a corridor of offices. The restaurant is not big nor fancy. It can feel a bit enclosed because you don't have a view of the city. The staff speak English and the menu is adequate. We had 2 appetizers, 2 main courses and a bottle of wine. The wine was more expensive than the whole meal. The wine choices were so so. They have an all you can drink wine promo for 120 yuan per person. The portions of the food were correct. The pasta aglio olio was too oily and salty for my taste. For this restaurant I would prefer their pizzas. Last order is 9.15pm. By 10.00pm the staff were clearing the tables, cutlery and giving you the check. It's not a place to linger after your meal. As there aren't many western restaurants in Xian or restaurants with english menus, Colabo is a nice change but nothing wow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I got sick after been there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very expensivt, tasteless pizza, and hard to find. The staff was friendly and the desert was the best.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

TripAdvisor didn't disappoint us - we were looking for NON Chinese food and I am quite picky when it comes to Italian food. But we were all happy with our dishes. The pizza, bruschetta and pasta dish were all very good. The restaurant was hard to find - 11th floor and had to go through a parking lot to find the door to the building - but we were happy that we found it! For those who live or travel here extensively - it was better than China good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.