We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant

Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant
XiHuaMen 1 KaiAi Mansion b Tower 11 Floor, Xi'an, China (Formerly Colabo Italy Restaurant)
029-87201501,029-87201502
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,521 Restaurants in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

TripAdvisor didn't disappoint us - we were looking for NON Chinese food and I am quite picky when it comes to Italian food. But we were all happy with our dishes. The pizza, bruschetta and pasta dish were all very good. The restaurant was hard to find - 11th floor and had to go through a parking lot to find the door to the building - but we were happy that we found it! For those who live or travel here extensively - it was better than China good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    34
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Italian oasis in Xian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is a great option if you want to take a break from Chinese cousine. They serve a great variety of salads, soups, pasta, pizza, lasagnas and other Italian main courses. Place is clean and reliable, we went there 2 times in a row. They also have good australian, american and european wines for reasonable prices. Great choice, tricky to find, since you basically have to enter into a commercial building and go up the elevator to a floor full of offices, the restaurant is located among them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Above average but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

House red wine according to the boss, was good.
Tried the fruit beer recommended, palatable but too sweet for me.
Draught tap was quite good.
Service was attentive, good & not over bearing, with good comprehension.

Preferred 1/2 chicken was going to take 45 minutes....steak not too long.
Asked for medium rare fillet mignon changed to medium on reconsidering....received not much more than "blue" but I enjoyed & about the right size serving with a small vegetable medley.

Bosses Potato & Fish pizza was not a bad combo but the pastry was undercooked & there was little fish.

We did not express any dissatisfaction with our meals but when asked on leaving was told they had trouble getting the Pizza oven hot enough.

Strange admission for an Italian specialty restaurant!

Overall good but is expensive by local standards or equivalent quality local food outlets.

Is located diagonally across the road from the Ramada then behind the ICBC Bank & as others have indicated is somewhat difficult to find.

Very clean western style toilet is kind of unique in this region.

Most likely we will dine there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very unexpected good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As we walked out of this restaurant, we saw a few groups of Westerns like us, found this place. Good food and simple deco with fairly good services. Food are fairly priced and freshly preped. No Italian chefs but young Chinese guys. You would have a peaceful evening away from all the crows and smoking. Deserts are great as well. If must suggest some, breads could be more authentic, the restroom door should always be closed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A great surprise!fine authentic italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After several days of stricrly chinese food we craved for some good italian.(no,pizza hut is NOT italian).located close to the bell tower but on a slightly strange locatio,inside an office building.food is delocious,thin crust pizza and good pasta.price was acttually fair,considering the many imported ingredients.go there if u can!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola del Nord Italy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.