We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful China! Wonderful Chinatours.com” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour

ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour
No.72 Keji Er Road, Xi'an 710075, China
029-88336611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 Tours & Activities in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful China! Wonderful Chinatours.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We took a chance on Chinatours.com and won big time. My wife and I asked Chinatours to arrange for us a 3 weeks private tour of China. We found out about them through the Internet, but based on my previous travel for business in China I knew that we can trust them to the minute details. And, indeed, we had a wonderful experience. At every airport and station there were their guide and driver awaiting us with a great smile and warmth, The car was alwyays perfectly clean and tidy with water supply for us. Taking us to our hotel (we took 5 stars hotels that added to our enjoyment). We did not have to worry about anything. The guide (he or she) were always there for us' keeping a parental worrying eye to see that we are always okay.
We had flights and trains and cruises and it was simply perfectly arranged ahead.
All we had to do was simply to enjoy the views, the people and learn from the guides about Chinese history and customs. My wife is vegeterian and stil they made sure that in every restaurant she could get a vegi meal. Myself, I love all kinds of foods and the places we were taken to eat served excellent food. Weather in China during our tour (Julay August) was hot and yet we enjoyed and the guides eased on us according to weather and according to our pace. It was one of the best tours I have experienced (I travelled quite a lot). It was only us twa and the guide and driver. This way is the best. No delays because of others in a group. Just the two of us and China. And one more word. Do not worry about health problems. I had a wisdom tooth problem and the guide took us to hospital in Beijing and the treatment was perfect. A week later I had to have stiches removal and the guide took me to hospital in Xianghai. Both places were wonderful. Best doctors and best western medicine.
The only tghing to worry about in China is the way they drive! Do not try to cross the street at pedestrians cross on your own. When we had to, we clinged to locals holding their hands.
Do not try to drive a car in China. Yet, we saw not even a single car accident. If you wonder why, please visit China's Acrobats show in Beijing theatre. You will watch 5 motorcycles spinning inside an iron cage all together. It is an amazing demonstration of chineses chracter- very accurate very quick and very precise. Amazing! And so is their everyday driving! Do not try it.
We loved China, we loved the tour and we highly recommend Chinatours.com.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina C, Guest Relations Manager at ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Doron K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for sharing your great pictures!

ChinaTours.com offers private tour for people who like to travel exclusively with their families and friends, it's great to know you enjoyed your private China tour in this way. We appreciate your kind words regarding the services our guides and drivers cater for you, hopefully we could see you again in your next China trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    7
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I, took a 14 day private guided tour with Chinatours. The service was fantastic.
We has a cancelled flight from Shanghai and we had to go to Kunming with a different airline, the
Next day. We were pleasantly surprised, that our guide was waiting for us at the airport, even though we were 24 hours late. The serice we had from our guide in Lijiang was unequalled and I still thank Sharen for the personalised service she gave us in Lijiang.
I can certainly recommend our travel agent with chinatours. Angela as she did not miss a beat
All the way from beginning to end

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We have a fantastic team who work hard to ensure that your holiday runs smoothly - even when flights are cancelled or running late.
We are glad you enjoyed your trip and look forward to welcoming you again when you next wish to visit our magnificent country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best ever. . .ChinaTours "with an S" service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had the best experience with this tour company from the beginning to end. They are very professional, easy to contact and their tour guides are the best (so far) and our family travel every summer. Happy was our tour guide in Beijing, Ada in Xi'an and Karl in Guilin & Yangshou and I give all tour guides a 6-star rating. They were the best guides we ever had. They spoke very good English, very accommodating, courteous, very prompt and they make you feel very comfortable in a foreign country. They made sure that we are safe and satisfied everyday. They even accompanied all the way to the airport before we enter the "secure" area. The drivers were also excellent with bottled drinking water always available in their vans. Yes, they are highly recommend and I have recommended them to family members and friend already. If we ever go back to China, we will not contact any other tour company but ChinaTours.com. Just gotta love them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina C, Guest Relations Manager at ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Chona C,

Thank you for your review and the wonderful picture from your trip!

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your entire trip with us. Guides are our strong asset and bottled water from drivers are always prepared for all customers, it's great you enjoyed them.

We would love to be of service again in your next China tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a 3 night/4 day Yangtze cruise via Angela with China Tours and we were hugely impressed. Not only were they cheaper than other agencies, Angela replied to our emails promptly and it seemed at all hours of day and night! We were on the president 8 boat. No question was too small and she went to huge lengths to let us know a last minute dock change. Would highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thankyou for your review
Angela is one of our Travel Consultants based on the ground in our China Office. She is part of a fantastic team of Consultants who offer local advice on hotels, tours, activities and adventures to enhance your trip to China.
We are pleased you enjoyed your Yangtze cruise and look forward to seeing you in China again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“ChinaTours.com aka ChinaTours dot com. (with an "s) trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First things first. This is the company with the "s" on Tours. Read some fairly good reviews of their tours in Xi'an and looked up their web site. They had excellent credentials and travel affiliations, including offices in the U.S. Started an e-mail correspondence, which was amazing in its quick response. We took a "join-in" tour of Beijing and Xi'an (where we had visited 28 years ago) with 3 nights in each location. Then we added an individual tour to Dunhuang (for the Mogao caves), which they offered on one of their other tours, so we figured they would know how to do it. On the join-in tour, there was a fixed itinerary, but it included re-visiting some of the sites we wanted to check out after a generation's change. It also included a visit to the Great Wall at a new site, Mutianyu, where I specifically wanted to go. We had to go in July, as we were doing this trip as a precursor to a fixed tour to Mongolia. For others, if you can avoid July, do so. The crowds and the heat are both oppressive. If it is your only choice, then do it. There were only 6 people on our join-in tour. Three from Australia, one from Britain, and us from Los Angeles. Everyone was very congenial. The itineraries were well planned, and the guides were flexible. For example, I had read about the site at Mutianyu where you can take a toboggan (on a track) down to the bottom. You go up by cable car. The tour had round-trip cable car. When we asked about taking the toboggan, there was no problem. Our guides spoke good English and were always punctual. We had a driver and a guide in each of our three cities. Often, they would make suggestions that were not on the original itinerary, and we could choose whether we wanted to vary the schedule. We had personally made several special requests to the fixed itineraries. Our plane arrived at 5 a.m., and we knew we would not be able to check into our hotel at that hour. So we asked for suggestions on what to do, and chinatours.com set up a visit to the Lama Temple (which was not on the original itinerary), plus breakfast, and a walk through a local hutong (neighborhood). The extra charge for this was minimal. We also asked for an upgrade on a hotel room in Dunhuang, and they charged us exactly what the hotel website quoted for the upgrade. They arranged individual airfares for us to get to Dunhuang from Xi'an and from Dunhuang to Beijing. And when our tour to Mongolia was pushed back a day, they filled in our trip with an extra day split between Xi'an and Dunhuang. Although working with a company on-line sometimes leaves you feeling uncertain, I would definitely recommend chinatours.com. We were exceptionally pleased and surprised at their professionalism and the value received. We had few complaints, and they were minimal. Certainly no more, and probably less, than we would have had with a "bricks and mortar" travel company. Don't hesitate to try to them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny B, Director of Sales at ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thankyou for your review
Yes - we are ChinaTours.com .....with an "S"
Fantastic that you opted for the toboggan or luge experience down from the Great Wall. We are always happy to make these changes if we are able.
We appreciate your kind words regarding the booking process and our product and we hope we can be of service again for your future visits to China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChinaTours Xian-Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.