We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and well worth time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Stone Steles Museum

Forest of Stone Steles Museum
Sanxuejie St, Wenyi Bei Lu 18, Xi'an, China
029 721 0764
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 316 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum boasts the largest collection of steles cut in 837 A.D., the oldest existing texts of the Confucian classics, and more than 2,000 engraved stone tablets from the Han dynasty.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Surprising and well worth time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stumbled into this museum in a former large Confucian temple and were delighted. With the surroundings as well as two exhibits in particular. The collection of magnificent stone Buddhas and the exhibit of hundreds of year old stone carved animals was a highlight, as well as the surrounding artists streets and markeys

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    115
    27
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A relaxed stroll through history....but only if you love calligraphy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Among all the grand museums and historical sites in Xian, this little gem of a quiet garden and courtyard compound filled with old stone tablets is my absolute favourite spot. It's off the usual tourist track so you'll always find it nice and quiet. And if you are into calligraphy, you could spend hours looking at the thousands of tablets, some more than a thousand years old, with old Chinese calligraphy. These tablets (or steles) range from 2-meter tall ones with just two large characters to some in a series of 2m x 2m ones with the entire text of the Analects of Confucius in tiny characters. I love to spend a couple of hours there even if I'm in Xian for business as i find the place extremely relaxing and soothing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Site of interest in Xi´an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a small, but lovely place. These steles contain several historical records about chinese nobility and some of them are up to 1000 years old. You will wander the place in 30 minutes, but it´s worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poorly explained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I know these steles are historically really interesting and provide an insight into Chinese culture and life over the past 2 millennia but...... It is just like visiting a graveyard without being able to understand the inscriptions (I know they are not gravestones!). Even with a guide I'm afraid that I got bored very quickly. The entry fee is a steep 70rmb too so unless you are fascinated by Chinese calligraphy I would save your money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sai Kung N.T., HONG KONG
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for a lover of calligraphy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Even if you can't read the stele, it's fascinating to see the differing calligraphic styles. Best to have a good guide with you to explain some of the finer points.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest of Stone Steles Museum also viewed

 

Been to Forest of Stone Steles Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest of Stone Steles Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.