We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed stroll through history....but only if you love calligraphy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest of Stone Steles Museum

Forest of Stone Steles Museum
Sanxuejie St, Wenyi Bei Lu 18, Xi'an, China
029 721 0764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 325 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum boasts the largest collection of steles cut in 837 A.D., the oldest existing texts of the Confucian classics, and more than 2,000 engraved stone tablets from the Han dynasty.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A relaxed stroll through history....but only if you love calligraphy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Among all the grand museums and historical sites in Xian, this little gem of a quiet garden and courtyard compound filled with old stone tablets is my absolute favourite spot. It's off the usual tourist track so you'll always find it nice and quiet. And if you are into calligraphy, you could spend hours looking at the thousands of tablets, some more than a thousand years old, with old Chinese calligraphy. These tablets (or steles) range from 2-meter tall ones with just two large characters to some in a series of 2m x 2m ones with the entire text of the Analects of Confucius in tiny characters. I love to spend a couple of hours there even if I'm in Xian for business as i find the place extremely relaxing and soothing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeijingHongkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
129 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Site of interest in Xi´an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a small, but lovely place. These steles contain several historical records about chinese nobility and some of them are up to 1000 years old. You will wander the place in 30 minutes, but it´s worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
449 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poorly explained”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I know these steles are historically really interesting and provide an insight into Chinese culture and life over the past 2 millennia but...... It is just like visiting a graveyard without being able to understand the inscriptions (I know they are not gravestones!). Even with a guide I'm afraid that I got bored very quickly. The entry fee is a steep 70rmb too so unless you are fascinated by Chinese calligraphy I would save your money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattwalesNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sai Kung N.T., HONG KONG
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for a lover of calligraphy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Even if you can't read the stele, it's fascinating to see the differing calligraphic styles. Best to have a good guide with you to explain some of the finer points.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaiKungSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of the wonders of Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Old Christian inscriptions from the silk road, a place to winder throughh old Chinese art and culture, a highlight, and not to be missed. If you have little time, do this place plus the Terracotta Army.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forest of Stone Steles Museum also viewed

 

Been to Forest of Stone Steles Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing