We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tang Dynasty Show & Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Dinner Show

Tang Dynasty Dinner Show
75 Changan Road, Xi'an, China
0086-29-87822222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$123*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors, Dumpling...
Ranked #25 of 50 Activities in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 364 Reviews
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tang Dynasty Song & Dance Troupe performs Chang'an music and dances that originated in the Tang Dynasty of Chinese history more than a thousand years ago.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tang Dynasty Show & Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The show was excellent ,We were right at the front although a couple of rows back might have been better, the meal was also very Good, The singing & dancing were Brilliant, well worth seeing.Nice theatre for the show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    136
    51
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm not an Opera person, but this was pretty good!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have never been a big fan of Opera style performances, but I have to admit that being accompanied with my wife and two teenagers, we all agreed that this was well worth the visit. The food was nice, not outstanding, and we found that there was enough good quality food for the evening. Due to the layout to watch the performance after the meal, the tables are in a set position which makes it hard for the waiters. Yet the service was good also. The performance itself was fast and entertaining. A bit of everything to please everyone. Would I do it again? Yeah, I reckon I would. So yes, worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One the best parts of my travels in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have lived in China (Hangzhou) in 2003, but I traveled through from Shanghai to Dun Huang to Urumqi to Kashgar and then to karakul and stopped by xi'an on my way home. To be honest - I like quiet places, my holidays are room for thought as much as anything else, but xi'an was amazing. The tour guide who showed us through the Terracotta Army took me aside and showed me this theatre of which I had no idea. I have been a fan of Andreas Vollenweider for a number of years, and now I know where he got lot of his inspiration from. The music and theatre is amazing.

When you consider they do this day to day, this is pretty special.

I'll grant - the food is pretty ordinary, not questions there, but you are not there for that, and the fact that people are allowed to smoke in ther, at least they were when I went (2010) it does detract a but. But the skills of the artists is extrordinary. No question, and thanks.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great costumes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Dinner prior to the show was good (unlike other reviews). We had excellent seats giving a good view of the show. Terrific costumes, dancing and music - plenty of photo opportunities. Well worth going to.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dumplings and dancing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Unlike some of the other reviews, we thought the additional price for the dumpling dinner was well worth the extra - you were dining in the knowledge that you were already where you needed to be, and it just added to the fun of the evening. Are they Xian's greatest dumplings? No idea - but we enjoyed them.

There's absolutely no debate about the show, though. It's a stunning visual feast with delightful music and, at an hour long, it's just the perfect length.

Dumplings and dancing - an excellent combination.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Dinner Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Dinner Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.