We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immerse in culture - Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Dinner Show

Tang Dynasty Dinner Show
75 Changan Road, Xi'an, China
0086-29-87822222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Xi'an Dumpling Banquet and Tang Dynasty Show
Ranked #41 of 371 Theater and Concerts in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tang Dynasty Song & Dance Troupe performs Chang'an music and dances that originated in the Tang Dynasty of Chinese history more than a thousand years ago.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Immerse in culture - Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Tang Dynasty Dinner Show is a great experience of rich cultural past of China. From the brightly lit exteriors of the theatre to the bright, clean , well maintained theatre everything reminded me that it does give a sense of pride to recollect one's past history and rich cultural habits. The dance, songs, costumes were very beautiful to watch so please do carry a camera.A recording of the entire song and dance is also available after the show so it sure forms a great souvenior.Dinner is part of the experience-infact the dinner menu is non vegetarian so plan accordingly.The ushers and staff serving dinner speak English and it just becomes an easy experience.Incase you want anything extra-like a glass of wine you would have to pay extra. This theatre features songs, dances, rare musical instruments and is the only theatre in China to feature a live band/orchestra to accompany the dance sequences.Some of the locals also stood up when artists dressed as the King and Queen of the Tang Dynasty paraded through the audience. If you have the time you must experience this show-quite a spectacle.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    140
    53
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“THE WHOLE PRODUCTION IS FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Thia was on our Gate 1 Tour package sponsored by Gate 1. I am so glad that even after a full day of touristing in Xi'an that we had this experience. THE SHOW IS TOP and really I wish everyone would have a chance to vie iw this production,based on the relationship of an emperor with a very beautiful concubine Yang. The orchestra, the artists, the costuming is just all done so professional. We were given a souveneir program. Our meal for that night was totaly luxury. The Theater is also just a beautiful attraction. At night the town is so very well designed to be lighted in a top decor scenario. THIS IS A MUST for Xi'an. Our group toured the park,danced with the locals, participated in their ballroom dancing and top spinning games and we were energized to also attend this glorious production in Xi'an.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Dumplings more memorable than the show!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Part of our organised tour - One dumpling each from each course makes 17 dumplings in all and 28 larger dumplings leaving the theater later. There's a wonderful array of flavours even with the pig featuring frequently. The show is very good with wonderful costumes if a little contrived.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dumplings to die for and the show was brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The meal and show were included in our Nexus Holidays (Sydney) China Golden Triangle Tour and was one of the highlights of our trip.
The dumplings were such a work of art I really didn't want to eat them. The show was a well balanced mixture of dance, acrobatics, singing and music and very enjoyable.
Nexus Holidays really planned our entertainment well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“Good show. Good dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a dumpling dinner before the show. They brought loads of different dumplings all different shapes. They all tasted good but in fact, they all tasted like chicken! They cleared the tables and then the show began. The show lasts around an hour with music performances followed by dance performances. Good mixture of performances and worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang Dynasty Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Dinner Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.