We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well set out set up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shaanxi History Museum

Shaanxi History Museum
91 Xiaozai E Rd, Xi'an 710061, China
85219422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 248 attractions in Xi'an
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This history museum, housed in a magnificent Confucian Temple, features more than 370,000 pieces of historical relics mainly from the Zhou to the Tang periods (1100B.C. to 907 A.D.).
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A well set out set up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Tip. Don't follow the crowds. Do the 'rooms' in reverse for a tranquil experience. Amazing artefacts. Extraordinary to reflect on the skills and civilisations that produced such amazing pieces. Very enjoyable and informative and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    191
    45
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“great museum to get an overview of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

this is a well organized museum that gives a very good overview of chinese history in xi'an. since this history covers 3000 years, it also gives a nice perspective of chinese history in general. we enjoyed it very much. worth the time spent there. con: it is free = you have to queue. and this may take a bit of time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dark and sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

nice building, long queue: expectations were high. totally not respected.
the museum has not much pieces in expo (considering EU museum standards) and the ground floor is totally dark with bad light on the explanations. not worth of the time

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lots of great stuff, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lots and lots to see. Also, lots and lots of people, so not the best experience. I like see objects displayed in such a way so that I can understand the context of their use, and I just didn't get that here. For an example of a museum that really gets it, try the Shanghai museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good collection of well-displayed material”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited this while on a 17-day tour of China, so there was inadequate time to do it justice (and no free time to allow us to go back). Our guide (who seemed to be very knowledgeable) said that it and the Shanghai Museum were the two best Museums in China. That may have been because they were the two major museums we were seeing, but based on our limited experience visiting other museums, it is probably correct. While the Shaanxi Museum did not have as extensive holdings as the Shanghai Museum, it had a lot of good stuff and most of it was very well displayed. You can get much better views of some items from the terra cotta army here than you can at the burial site out of town. It is very definitely worth a visit if in town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaanxi History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaanxi History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shaanxi History Museum to your Saves list