We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a look.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)

Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)
Enci Temple The southern part of Yata Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
029-85535014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 249 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on the grounds of the Jianfu Temple, this pagoda (circa 652 A.D.) is considered on of the most famous in China due to its antiquity and historical relevance in connection with Buddha.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Well worth a look.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Make sure you visit the Big Wild Goose Pagoda. The temple with the carved walls and the temple with the mosaic of the life of Buddha are both outstanding.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    455
    175
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The jewel in the Crown.... Xians'Wild Goose Pagoda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The ancient city of Xian marked the gateway to the old Silk Road, along whose routes were brought and sent forth
many treasures.. Amoungst the greatest of these were in the form of new teachings that had come from far away India... The Teachings of the Buddha.... The Great Wild Goose Pagoda was to become a place of learning in this time of enlightenment in China... I was left to marvel at its beauty and majesty on an icy January day in 2012... After heavy snow the pagoda glistened like a jewel ... It's corridors of silence a flute for the winds....people flood to Xian to see the Terracotta Warriors and wonder at their marvel but in my experience the Wild Goose Pagoda surely is the jewel in Xians'crown!Ann Hamilton

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Especially at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to the "festival of light" (9 to 9.20 PM every night) , which is right down in front of the wild goose pagoda, and it was absolutely awesome! The interest of this pagoda is that it looks quite different from others, like it has a "sandy" look. It was the birthday of one of our friend, so we brought Champagne to drink in the small garden next to the pagoda...fantastic time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Important monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Big Wild Goose Pagoda is one of the more important architectural monument in the whole China et in the world. So, we wanted to see it. But we appreciated more the beautiful park near the Pagoda.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Interesting attraction which provide linkage to the story "Journey to the West"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The story "Journey To The West" is one that most Southeast Asians would have heard of. Hence it was really interesting to actually get to visit a temple which stored the scriptures themselves.

We got hold of a local guide who walked us through all the halls. He is very knowledgeable and gave us very detailed explanations. The only part I didn't like was that we were brought into an area where the staff tried to sell us stuff (again). And when none of us bought, the guide didn't look too happy.

Otherwise, it was a very good trip. Learnt a lot more about Buddhism and its significance in ancient China.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta) also viewed

 

Been to Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Wild Goose Pagoda (Dayanta) to your Saves list