We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huaqing Hot Springs

Huaqing Hot Springs
Huaqing Pool, Lishan, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 248 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Historic Sites, Hot Springs/ Geysers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This was the former resort of the Emperors and their concubines (221 B.C. until 907 A.D.) where the imperial couples bathed in the Nine Dragon Hot Spring and Guifei Hot Spring.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Semarang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

For those who appreciates history, this complex is actually very historical and more than just emperor and empress playgrounds. History of modern China was actually shaped here with Chiang Kai Sek poor decision to put his people interest first above his personal ones. Other than this infamous Xian incident, this used to be a huge palace complex with some original Tang Dynasty walls still standing today. Even the symbol of this complex, which was concubine Yang Guifei, had interesting story. We visited on winter so very few people were around but that also means no flowers were around to enhance the complex.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    112
    73
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great but you have to get a guide to appreciate it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Read up on yanguifei first to understand the background of this period. Also on jiangjieshi the Kuomintang president. The guide is very knowledgable. I asked a few questions and they know every question. It's not just a hot spring but full of historical facts if you ask the right questions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Admission fee not worth what we saw”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Paid 120 yuan admission fee then walked 5 minutes to entrance.
went to see the springs, is a very large area but water is filthy and was disappointed with what i saw.
Maybe i was expecting too much but if i knew paying that much would result in that then I would have avoided it.

It was good to learn where emperors used to attend for baths but generally not impressed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“finally know how the bathrooms of the emperor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can see the bath area of the emperors and learn about the history of Yang Guifei. Was quite interested in their history after the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If your heading to the Warriors, this is another good attraction to visit. Take a few hours here for a leisurely stroll through the Bathing Houses and Gardens. We had a private guide for the day and he was very informative. If its a clear day I would suggest take the gondola to the top of the mountain. Didn’t do this ourselves as there was low cloud and pollution. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huaqing Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Huaqing Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huaqing Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Huaqing Hot Springs to your Saves list