We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huaqing Hot Springs

Huaqing Hot Springs
Huaqing Pool, Lishan, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Historic Sites, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This was the former resort of the Emperors and their concubines (221 B.C. until 907 A.D.) where the imperial couples bathed in the Nine Dragon Hot Spring and Guifei Hot Spring.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Semarang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

For those who appreciates history, this complex is actually very historical and more than just emperor and empress playgrounds. History of modern China was actually shaped here with Chiang Kai Sek poor decision to put his people interest first above his personal ones. Other than this infamous Xian incident, this used to be a huge palace complex with some original Tang Dynasty walls still standing today. Even the symbol of this complex, which was concubine Yang Guifei, had interesting story. We visited on winter so very few people were around but that also means no flowers were around to enhance the complex.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    122
    78
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great but you have to get a guide to appreciate it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Read up on yanguifei first to understand the background of this period. Also on jiangjieshi the Kuomintang president. The guide is very knowledgable. I asked a few questions and they know every question. It's not just a hot spring but full of historical facts if you ask the right questions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Admission fee not worth what we saw”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Paid 120 yuan admission fee then walked 5 minutes to entrance.
went to see the springs, is a very large area but water is filthy and was disappointed with what i saw.
Maybe i was expecting too much but if i knew paying that much would result in that then I would have avoided it.

It was good to learn where emperors used to attend for baths but generally not impressed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“finally know how the bathrooms of the emperor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can see the bath area of the emperors and learn about the history of Yang Guifei. Was quite interested in their history after the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If your heading to the Warriors, this is another good attraction to visit. Take a few hours here for a leisurely stroll through the Bathing Houses and Gardens. We had a private guide for the day and he was very informative. If its a clear day I would suggest take the gondola to the top of the mountain. Didn’t do this ourselves as there was low cloud and pollution. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huaqing Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Huaqing Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huaqing Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.