We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally know how the bathrooms of the emperor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huaqing Hot Springs

Huaqing Hot Springs
Huaqing Pool, Lishan, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Historic Sites, Hot Springs/ Geysers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This was the former resort of the Emperors and their concubines (221 B.C. until 907 A.D.) where the imperial couples bathed in the Nine Dragon Hot Spring and Guifei Hot Spring.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“finally know how the bathrooms of the emperor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Can see the bath area of the emperors and learn about the history of Yang Guifei. Was quite interested in their history after the trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    121
    77
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If your heading to the Warriors, this is another good attraction to visit. Take a few hours here for a leisurely stroll through the Bathing Houses and Gardens. We had a private guide for the day and he was very informative. If its a clear day I would suggest take the gondola to the top of the mountain. Didn’t do this ourselves as there was low cloud and pollution. Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“China's version of the Roman Baths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

After a trip to the Terracotta Army it makes sense to combine your visit with China's version of the Roman baths as they are not that far apart and as we had chartered a taxi for the round trip from our hotel it made a great day out. Situated at the northern foot of mount Lishan approx 30 km out of town these hot springs used to provide the water for the Emperors bathing pools back in the Tang Dynasty. You can still experience the hot spring within two large basins and wash your hands and face in the mineral rich water, or paddle in the shallow pool situated in these tranquil surroundings all for 110REM per person. There is also a cable car return trip cost of 60 REM but we advised prior to purchasing tickets that the waiting time was over an hour and the park closed at 5pm and it was already gone 4pm so we were unable to experience this additional attraction. However the remainder was well worth a visit. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Worth it if on route to Terracotta Army”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place has some very interesting history. It's a story of love found, and love lost. Its somewhat of a fable that tour guides clutch onto for all dear life! Truth be told... It's a natural hot spring, a beautiful setting, some early clever engineering, but not much more. I didn't catch the cable car, but I have a feeling that it may have been a highlight of the trip. Nearly 90% of this park has been rebuilt in the last 20 years so may not be the historical landmark you're looki for, but with a flying visit on route to the terracotta warriers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it's worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you like beautiful Tang dynasty Architecture and visiting places with rich history, go for it. Plus it 43 degrees celsius spring water makes me want to live in a nearby resort and spend the whole day in the hot springs ;)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huaqing Hot Springs also viewed

 

Been to Huaqing Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huaqing Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.