We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang

Tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang
Mausoleum of Qin Emperor, the northern foot of Lishan, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The tomb of Emperor Qin (259-210 BC), the first Emperor of China, has not been excavated due to lack of funding, however it is believed that many of the treasures buried with him are still intact.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After seeing these on TV and studying them in College, this was a must visit for me and I was not disappointed. I was very happy with our tour. If you are even debating - don't. Find a tour and GO!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“tombs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

small fee. follow the guided tour (in chinese) or arrange one in english.simple layout. short walk. lotsa stairs!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A memorable and amazing sight full of soliders that are not the same and are 2000 odd years old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went to the Mausoleum of the Qin Emperor in Xian,Shaanxi Provience during our Christmas holiday. We joined a tour from Hong Kong. It is located 100 odd km from Xian. There are three founded sites in total at the attraction at present. They were founded when some farmers yielded in the fields in 1974. What they have found turned out was one of the 8 wonders of the world and a World Heritage site. The first mauseleum is the most amazing one. It has the most soldiers, but it still has around one-half that hasn't been found out or discovered. We then went to a souvenir shop, where you can get the signature of one of the founders of the Mausoleum. He is a farmer, who found the mausoleum with other 90 farmers. The third mausoleum nearby, is the smallest, but full of no-headed soldiers and mighty chariots. Finally, we went to the second mausoleum, which is full of soldiers in different actions. One of them is holding a spire, while one of them is bending down. All of the thousands of soldiers/chariots found don't have the same face. It must have took a long time in the Qin Dynasty to finish the mausoleum. I highly recommend this site if you are going to China for the third time (After Beijing and Shanghai) and if you are going to Xian.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
380 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Nice view from top of Tomb Mound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Tomb of Emperor Qin is not the terracotta warriors. Some prior reviewers are mistaken. the Tomb is a big buriel mound about a mile from the Terracotta Warriors museum. It is cool to look at at and climb to the top. Locals line the steps trying to hawk all sorts of souviners. You can walk the surrounding gardens or ride a golf cart around the mound. As you stand on top of the burial mound-you have to wonder what the burial chamber looks like. Is it as grand as the legend say? I stopped here on the way to the warriors. A must while in Xi'an. Emperor Qin is a legend in China history. Most tour operators stop here and is included in the package price. Not a whole lot to see- the the fun and awe of seeing/climbing the burial mound of the first emperor of China is exciting.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“wow, really jaw dropping, but once that wears off a bit repedative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Area around is very clean and litter free. The warriers were amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.