We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2,200 years ago. 8,000 soldiers, 130 chariots, 670 horses - all burried 20 feet down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029- 81399127
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #1 of 317 things to do in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
243 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“2,200 years ago. 8,000 soldiers, 130 chariots, 670 horses - all burried 20 feet down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

What impressed me most, on first sight, was the depth to which they were buried. If you have ever had to did a 6 feet deep grave, you will appreciate how much work that requires! No wonder they needed 700,000 workers. So the soldiers are here to protect Emperor Qin Shi Huang; - and also uncovered they have discovered Officials, acrobats, strongmen and musicians - well of course he would need these.
What is staggering is the amount of details on the statues. They say that no 2 faces are identical, and all were magnificently painted in vivid multi colors. If you look at Wiki. online, they have pictures of these.
But what impresses me most is that all, that's what they say, clay statues were smashed to pieces when the following Emperor ripped off the top soil covering, and took most of the weapons for his battles, - and had his soldiers break everything in sight. Now they are restored! Only the Chinese could have done this! Well done.
Brian, from Perth. W.Australia.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,441
    1,346
    339
    51
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eight world wonder, visit of a lifetime ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

It is simply without words the historical significance of these magnificent statues, but it is also the amount of them and the detail of each that makes you wonder the knowledge and culture of China 2200 years ago. Very glad I had a chance to see them in person as pictures cannot capture the feeling of being there. The museum is under roof and try to get early to avoid the crowds. Good restrooms and facilities.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

About an hour away from the city center, this is the must stop place to go to in Xi'an. The pits range from small to large and I suggest starting from the smallest pit to Pit 1 to build up all that one will see. As they are still excavating you can often see archeologists working on restoring broken warriors or slowly digging away at untouched scenes.

It gets very crowded and very sunny so I suggest coming in the morning. The surrounding park is lovely and you can bring food and drinks to enjoy the scenery.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must in China visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

A fascinating and informative tour to this impressive site. A good 30 minutes from Xi'an and lots of walking, but a highlight in any visit to China.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

The hostel that we stayed at Han tang Inn Youth Hostel (great hostel) arranged our trip to visit the Terracotta Warriors. The guide was very good. The museum was amazing. It blew us away. I would strongly recommend a visit here. This was one of our main highlights on our visit to China. Definitely a must. It's amazing. Loved it, loved it, loved it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.