We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Terracotta Wariors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029- 81399127
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #1 of 317 things to do in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Terracotta Wariors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 NEW

Xi'An was on our bucket list for a long time, so finally we have made it and of course you can't miss to visit The Museum of Qin Terracotta Warriors. We went there on a Monday after the Public Holiday, which was much more comfortable I guess rather go at weekend/public holiday where all the crowds running around. The Terracottas are amazing and it is definitely a must if you visit Xi'An.
We booked one of those private tour agent for a full day of sightseeing. It wasn't that cheap, but if you come the first time to Xi'An and not that familiar with this City it is better to invest this money for a private tour guide. The next time (we will come definitely again) we will go sightseeing by our own as once you know how to use public transportation in Xi'An it is really convenient and really cheap. For all who interested in Chinese history and culture I can recommend without hesitation to visit the Terracotta Warriors Museum.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,316
    1,321
    334
    50
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
loughton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 NEW

Nothing prepares you for what you see here. No TV pictures, or seeing a few items on display at the travelling event held at the British Museum, nothing..you have to see it to take it in. Plus the painstaking work still going on to repair the thousands of damaged model soldiers, horses etc is mind numbing. Put on your bucket list NOW.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Fascinating piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 NEW

Long transfer 90 mins terrible traffic. No road signs until almost there.

V good exhibitions in 3 main halls with side exhibitions and smaller buildings. Quite crowded, so patience needed to get close, and maybe a little pushing and shoving.

The best feature was in the detail of the warriors, where each one had been given a personality. This is not a series of clones.

Need about 2.5 hours there to get the full benefit from all the exhibition halls. Route out takes people through shops so hard to find car.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tour guide Michael Yang, excellent guided tour, Terracotta Soldiers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 NEW

Michael Yang was a tour guide in Xi'an for our two day visit. Among other attractions he took us to the Terracotta Soldiers. His tour of this museum was magnificent. He not only assisted us getting to the front of lots of local Chinese Tour Groups his knowledge of the Terracotta Soldiers was excellent. Without his commentary we would have missed so much. It was not only like a history lesson but the snippets of information made his tour a step above the rest. His tour made the Terracotta Soldiers an unforgettable visit on a par with if not better than the Great Wall.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very impressive ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015 NEW

Our first view was awesome. It's hard to contemplate the effort that went into creating all those individual figures. And then you realize that only about 20% of them have been reconstructed. The first vault is the best and most impressive. The other two are more instructional where individuals figures, horses, and armaments are displayed around the mostly-unexcavated pits. It's well worth a visit and I recommend reading about the history of the Qin Dynasty and how the army was found before actually seeing it.









Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.