We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being part of a piece of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029-3911961
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$720*
and up
2-Day Private Tour of Xi'an from Shanghai by...
Ranked #1 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Being part of a piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014 NEW

It was quite an experience visiting the terracotta warriors, a world heritage site.
The easiest way to get there is by taking bus number 306 from the bus stand adjoining the railway station.
Once you get there an RMB 150 ticket allows you access you could hire a guide too or opt for the audio guide.

Golf carts are available to take you to the main pit, pit 1. So you could take one or just walk.
Once at the first pit, you will see the warriors as you see them in most pictures. Pits 2 and 3 are smaller and not as impressive but have its an experience all together. November was a beautiful time to visit.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,820
    1,228
    313
    49
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thumbs Up for the Terra-Cotta Warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

The first place that we visited for our Xi'an tours was the Terra-Cotta Warriors because of its worldwide fame. As one of the World’s Eight Wonders, visiting Terra-Cotta Warriors was always a dream of my family.

Our Xi'an Terra-Cotta Warriors tour began at the second day after we arrived in Xi'an and luckily it was a nice sunny day. The Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum is actually Emperor Qin Shi Huang's Mausoleum which occupies a vast area of over 124 square miles and consists of three great pits.

We first came to No.1 pit. According to the tour guide, this pit was stumbled upon in March 1974 when some villagers of Xiyang Village in Lintong County, sank a well 1.5km east of the mausoleum. It is an earth-and-wood structure in the shape of a tunnel. In the east end are arrayed three lines of terra-cotta warriors which are supposed to be the van of the formation. Immediately behind them are many columns of infantry men alternating with war chariots in the corridors. They are probably the main body of the formation.

In No.2 pit, infantry, cavalry and chariot soldiers are displayed. We also saw some 2,000-year-old wooden chariots which are already rotten but their shafts and wheels left clear impressions on the earth bed. While No.3 pit is considered to be the command post of the battle formation. Both of the two pits had been refilled, but we could see some clay figures and weapons displayed in the exhibition halls in the museum that had been unearthed from these two pits.

All these warriors showed us the epitome of the powerful army of First Emperor of Qin. They look healthy and strong and have different facial expressions. Probably they were sculptured by craftsmen according to real soldiers of the Qin dynasty. What impressed us most was the Kim Chun which has been buried underground for 2100 years. The cold light from it is aggressive and it's still extremely sharp.

The Terra-Cotta Warriors is truly a breathtaking site for tourists, being a good starting for our Xi'an tours.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

This was a bucket list visit and it really was moving to understand this wonder. Take a tour guide for the history and to get a better understanding of the stories.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW via mobile

I really enjoyed the visit. The museum is well designed and maintained. I highly recommend hireing a guide to give you the background info! Well worth the visit!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent - Worth the Trip To Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

I was here in December, low Season. weather was not too cold, but better than being in the heat of the summer or peak season (Apr/May and Sep/Oct I think). I understand that it really gest very busy but we had a great day with very few crowds.
This is really worth going to and I can understand why it is the 2nd most visited site for international travelers.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.