We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029- 81399127
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #1 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
484 reviews 484 reviews
380 attraction reviews
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“A Must See.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Its an amazing sight to know that technology was so advanced so many centuries ago. Well worth the visit even if it takes a long time.Was able to take photo, but it does not do justice to the real thing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,657
    1,399
    355
    52
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Even if it is a hoax, man it's impressive :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just staggering, row upon row, the variety and the complexity of the characters. You hear the rumours that it's a hoax but who cares, unlike the Stone Forest, this is actually impressive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Definitely a bucket-list item!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The history of the place and the tomb is fascinating, and the restoration to repair the broken warriors is just as amazing. In total there are 3 pits, the first is the biggest and most spectacular, the other tow pits are smaller and less restored. There is also a short movie in English that explains the history of the place. The Terracotta Warriors is a definite must-see!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great QIN era but better facilities are needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We took the BUS 'you #5' at Xi'an train station. Xi'an train station was not very friendly to visitors. We spent 15 mins to find the correct buses as too many buses which pretented as 'you #5' in XI'an train station. It took less than one hour to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses. It was so impressive when you stood in front of those worriors and horses! Qin Spent 4o years and 7+ million workers to build his own tomb! China also spent more than 40 years to discover its real face like Qin era. However, China has not enough technologies to maintain the warriors and horses and everything in Qin's tomb. I wish we can see the whole picture within 10 years.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Marvellous Armies of Qin Shi Huang, the first Emperor of China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is quite an amazing discovery and I was enthralled by how beautifully the broken pieces have been meticulously put together and displayed in a very a comfortable museum. The detailed work amazes me of the Chinese people and how meticulously they have assembled these. Each soldier has a different face! I was so happy to meet two of the farmers who discovered these and was able to take a photograph and receive a signed copy of the book. US$20 for the book and ¥20 Yuans for the photograph. Current estimates are that in the three pits containing the Terracotta Army there were over 8,000 soldiers, 130 chariots with 520 horses and 150 cavalry horses. There are numerous terra cotta souvenirs that you can purchase and I really enjoy what I purchased. I would visit this again, it is inspiring.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.