We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you only could see it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029-3911961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 249 attractions in Xi'an
Type: History Museums, Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“If you only could see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you only could see it properly, but with hundreds of screeming and yelling Chinese around it is difficult. Either come early or dont bother!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,134
    1,075
    279
    45
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best China has so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The famous warrior army is sureeley the only real match to Egypts ancient wonders. Even if I dont believe they have not been digging into the tomb of the Emperor allready (and found nothing), his army is outstanding. The new museum in the same premisses shows great exebitions and should not be missed, few people only take the time to watch them. The other places are like everything else in China totally overcrowded, so go early and be the first on the spot!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terra-Cotta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to the museum on two different occasions. The first time was at the beginning of August in 2011 during a tour as a tourist. It was very nice because there was hardly any people. I had the museum pretty much to myself but I felt the tour was rushed so I didn't get to enjoy seeing everything at my pace. The second time I'm guessing was during high peak, April 2012. My goodness there was a lot of people, very crowded and a lot of pushing and shoving. We couldn't take picture without people getting in the way. We couldn't see the displays. Other than that it was good. The Pits and displays of the warriors were amazing. There are a lot of artisans outside with very good souvenirs and trinkets. Also the food was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“If you're in Xi'An go, but don't expect too much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Lonely Planet said it would cost 45¥ for students, and we were charged 75¥. We visited pit 3, then pit 2 and finally pit 1.

Pit 2 is a complete waste of time, except for the soldiers exhibited in glass boxes.

Pit 3 has a nice horse.

Pit 1 has the most soldiers.

It is FULL of tourists everywhere.

We were completely dissappointed..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very impressive sight and a must-see if you are in Xian. There are official tour guides who can walk you around - a two-hour tour costs around 15 pounds (plus you will have to pay for entry). My guide had his pass checked by security twice while we were walking around.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses to your Saves list