We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to visit, great history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029-3911961
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 247 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: History Museums, Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to visit, great history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is a great place to visit, rich in history, and breathtaking views of thousands of these clay life sized warriors facing you once you arrive in the buildings (football field size), just huge! Take a lot of pictures!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,378
    1,130
    292
    45
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Terra cotta army”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had been expecting to be overwhelmed and I was. The site is enormous and the painstaking reconstruction is a huge undertaking that will take man y many years to complete
The surroundings have been sympathetically and tastefully done given the aura of a tranquil garden. I can well see why the Chinese refer to it as the eight wonder of the world

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Truly amazing! If you're lucky enough you might meet one of the farmers in the souvenir store. Do take the time look around, the place is huge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Priceless but disappointing park management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

No doubt the relics are priceless and excavation sites are truly impressive and I believe most tourists will visit. However, we were disappointed with park management and the facilities around it. We took a taxi here.

There are two parking areas and in order to get off at the one closer to the Museum, you need to pay extra even just for drop off. Unfortunately, we arrived on a rainy day and upon paying park extrnace, you are also asked to pay extra for taking the buggy which was a 1-2min ride. Interestingly, this service wasn't available for the return. There were also many tour guides offerring their services for extras but the ones we approached for asking for just directions seemed very reluctant to assist.

BTW, if you are interested in getting the souvenirs like the terra-cotta warriors and horses figurines, they get cheaper among the shops further away from the exit. Please also hand-carry them if you get those clay figurines as the one my friend purchased shatttered to pieces with baggage check-in.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The warriors were the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Having seen the traveling show twice but to be in Pit One and see the warriors, horses and archers was an overwhelming experience. We arrived at 8 AM and were leaving at 11AM. it was great to beat the crowds and the heat. The film was interesting and the special exhibit was well done. I want to go back!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.