We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029-3911961
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 248 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: History Museums, Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Lusaka, Zambia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We took the sleeper train from Beijing to Xián just to see the worriers and it was well worth it. By chance we met one of the farmers that discovered them. the whole place is very impressive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,549
    1,163
    303
    45
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing! must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

As in any place in China everything is crowded, how ever once you have a good guide that takes you and know his way arround it makes everything so easy- we traveled with China Tour Advisors and we where so Happy. The knowledge and the history was well told by our tour guide- So thank you RU!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Just WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is such a brilliant find! nothing comes close the feeling of looking down at the pits and seeing rows and rows of terracotta warriors in battle formation. Each warrior with a different face and different characteristics to the next. No one piece is the same. We hired a guide for around 150RMB just outside the entrance and it was well worth the extra money! how to get there ....Do not take a tour that will charge you sky high prices instead go to the Xian Railway station and the bus station is to the east of the rail ways station behind a convenience Store. There you will see many green buses - all of these are tourist buses which will take you to various destinations . you need to catch the 306 bus which will take you all the way to the terracotta warriors for 7RMB which is a Bargain! You can catch the same number bus to return to the Xian Railway Station for 7 Yuan. Buses are frequent . we didn't have to wait for even 10 minutes . The museum and the 3 pits were just the highlight of our trip in China and not even the great wall delighted us as much as this wonderful site. This place is just fascinating and incredibly rich in culture and history . it is only rivalled by that of the pyramids in Egypt. this is a Must do in Xian.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Highlight of the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had no idea of how impressive this was! There are three pits which house these Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses. They were uncovered by four farmers working their fields, or so I was told. I believe that they are still working on this today. One will be in awe when they see these!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Dont miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Massive tourist draw so expect queues but there's so much to see you can escape a tiny bit. Vast areas of excavated ground. Fascinating story of how they were found. Buy a book - bit pricey but you'll be able to read it in more detail when you get home and the pictures will be better. Get it signed by the farmer who found them if you can. He won't let you photograph him unless you pay! Stunning site - another world wonder

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.