We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in xi'an you should visit this.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses

The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029-3911961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 248 attractions in Xi'an
Type: History Museums, Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Monuments/ Statues
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When in xi'an you should visit this.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's amazing how many statues there were buried. But when you have seen it, you have seen it. You know this from pictures on the internet and from television. Well... it looks exactly the same.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,174
    1,083
    281
    45
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Datong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had been the museum of Terracotta Warriors and Horses a week ago. The weather was very nice and there are not a lot of visitors. Before I been there I heard there are always many many foreign visiors but when I went inside the museum it is almost no persons. Maybe because of afternoon. I never think the pit is so big and there are so many woaaiors and horses but it is a pity I cannot see the color of them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the 8th wonders in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Xi'an is home of the world renowned Terra Cotta Army, an archeological site of unimaginable size and importance. The Terra Cotta Army was created to guard Emperor Qin Shihuang’s tomb and to protect him in the afterlife. It is estimated that there are over 7,000 life-size terra cotta figures and horses buried here I once led tour group there every client think it is as amazing as Great Wall in Beijing
it is a must you should travel when you spend your vacation in China

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terra cotta army in eyes of a local guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a local tour guide, i have been to this museum quite a lot of times, because the excavation work is still going on, every time i go is even a "new" trip for me, new findings keep occuring in my eyes, especially the facial appearances of those mighty warriors, some are smileing, some are very solemn, some are even peeping at fellow standing beside him. i always try my best to tell every detailed findings i know to my guests. of course, at the same time some of my guests are very professional and observant, i also learned a lot from them.
hoping every tourist to my hometown have a pleasant and meaningful trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A World Attraction For The Next 3 Century's Unearthed In 1974 by Captain Rick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I suppose, next to "The Great Wall" this is the most well known Attraction In China. The size is impressive to say the least. What is most unique about the Terracotta Warrior find is that almost 40 years on the excavation is still going but at a cleverly managed pace. This World Wonder barring any natural forces of destruction will continue to bring the Tourist from both within and Global for many a Century to come.
I was there on a Sunday and was lucky enough to meet the Farmer whose land this incredible find was discovered on, and he signs peoples books that are purchased at the Souviner Shop. The new exhibit being "The Crown Of The Bronze was also on show when I visited, so we were presented with the full package, the whole sprawling 3 pits, The Horse & Chariot unveiling and the sprawling grounds and beautifully manicured gardens makes this a "bucket lister" and everyone that is able should see this for themselves.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses to your Saves list