We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses
Qinling North Road, Lintong District, Xi'an 710600, China (Formerly The Terracotta Army,Terra Cotta Warriors and Horses)
029- 81399127
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Special Offer
$126*
and up
Xi'an Small-Group Tour: Terracotta Warriors and...
Ranked #1 of 319 things to do in Xi'an
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: One of the most significant archaeological finds in the world, this 16,300-square-meter excavation reveals more than 7,000 life-size terracotta figures of warriors and horses arranged in battle formations.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an amazing scenery. Placing it in the context of Qin Shin Huang emperor reign (220 BC) and the 700,000 people and 38 years it took to build, you realize how small you are. It took the 3 of us ~1 hour from Xi'an to reach the place. We made a deal with the cab driver for 400 yuan to bring us there, wait for us (~2h) and bring us back home.
A must see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,247
    1,312
    330
    49
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The must see attraction at XiAn. Well worth the effort. In fact, the reason we went to XiAn. But the the city wall is also a must see. A guided tour is not necessary as the signs provide plenty of information. Our guide was difficult to understand. The display is much better than expected, easy to walk around, the display is excellent and the museum is an added bonus.
Be careful of the rip-offs. The guide took us to a "reputable outlet" for collectables and then avoided all the stalls outside that provided much cheaper versions of the items we had just purchased. We felt a little disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A visit to the Terra-cotta warriors is a must do if you are visiting China. To be honest, we were not impressed by Xi'an and before visiting the Terra-cotta warriors, we were worried about our decision to go there instead of many of the other amazing sights in China that we passed up on. However, the Terra-cotta warriors make up for Xi'an. To see the different faces of each individual warrior is amazing. make sure that you plan enough time to just stand and be amazed by the place. In fact, it would be a good idea to take a set of binoculars so you can look and see the faces of some of the warriors towards the middle of the very large room. I had wanted to see the Terra-cotta warriors since I was a very young, and the visit did not disappoint!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

lots of English guides available ... but no need to explain anything as the site speaks for itself. An incredible discovery and very well presented and preserved. It has wheelchair access, but still a lot of walking (or wheeling ) involved ........... worth the effort though.... a one of a kind attraction and you can even buy a book autographed by the farmer that discovered them.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Amazing work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've had this on my list for a couple of years, and got a 'sample' with the exhibit that was briefly in New York this year.... bust seeing this in situ was just great.

The hotel arranged a taxi and on arrival we were approached by a guide-- only one, a nice change from some places. He was excellent, and spoke good English, giving the history and current restoration work on both excavation and restoration of the statues. He paced the tour to my speed (slow) and was helpful in giving some foto tips for best spots inside the hangar-sized display.
A great day and well worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of Qin Terra-cotta Warriors and Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.