We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee & Cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starbucks

Starbucks
No 1 West Street | The Square of Bell and drum Towers, Xi'an, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Coffee & Cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was a wet day in Xi'an, so we went to Starbucks instead of doing Xi'ans wall and the bell tower.
It was good to have a good cup of coffee and some thing to eat, just what you would expect from Starbucks, but although they had free wifi, I couldn't access it on my laptop, it seems you have to have a mobile phone to dial into it, I didn't really understand.
There is a good souvenir market nearby as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty much the same wherever you go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'm not a Starbucks fan but when you're in a city where little or no English is spoken, don't have many coffee shop choices...Starbucks seems like a life saviour. There are about 6 in Xi'an. It's always busy with students hanging out for the free wifi. The snacks are good and staff speak English, some better than others.The cappucino and lattes seem to have more milk than coffee. Something I've noticed that most, if not all, Starbucks in Xi'an have a proper seated toilet (which is non existent in Xian except in hotels).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“It's a Starbucks, with everything you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's a moderately impressive Starbucks, about as western as any Chinese branch of a western company gets. The staff speak a reasonable standard of English, usually, though my frappuccinos have been a bit 'ice-heavy' a few times. Anyone who frequents this chain knows you can't top an almond latte with whipped cream on a cold wintry day though ;)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“It can compete with any of the Starbucks around the world for the service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have to say that these guys were amazing! I visited this cafe on various occasions and after couple of visits they already knew what I am going to order! And this is one of the busiest Starbucks I've seen in China! The view of the Drum Tower and the Bell Tower adds to the experience... just one warning: avoid the beggars and the "English students" who are asking to chat with you - the second ones are usually scammers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks also viewed

 

Been to Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starbucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.