We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice govt. approved hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi'an Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xi'an Hotel
No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
IL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice govt. approved hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is convenient and staff were helpful. Like our beds in most Chinese hotels, it was thin and not terribly comfortable. It was clean, spacious, had a nice bath, and work area.
I suggest the Tang Dynasty Dinner and Show closeby/across the very busy street, too while you are there.

Room Tip: We were able to enjoy a Chinese massage--legitimate--right next door at a Chinese clinic/spa. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    149
    74
    18
    10
See reviews for
13
6
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I came with a group so I have no idea about cost and/or value but I thought the hotel was clean. The amenities were nice. The bathroom was on the larger end compared to other hotels. The room was bright during the day time, had enough light at nite. Location left a little to be desired as the nightlike was a long cab ride away and since in Xi'an the cabbies do not get a lot of money once you get in if you do not go far enough, cabs were hard to get. The hotel was quiet at night, lobby was nice and the people were friendly. Breakfast was not good but fine for a quick breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

In a city where the Weston costs $115US I can't imagine our tour operator paid more than $20 to put us up in this dump. It was dirty, the bathroom was moldy, there were water stains on the walls, the carpet was filthy, there were cigarette burns in the fabrics, and a stain from who knows what in the center of the "occasional" chair decorating the room. The bed was, I think a box spring, but the bed linens were clean. This was an upgraded room, after the original, non-smoking room we were in was rejected because of the smoke smell. Book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 days there as a part of Xi'an tour. It is no doubtly, we lived very well! When we tired after a day of travel, many TV programmes help us relax. Certainly, the full Xi,an food gave us a indelible memory!
When we were getting up every morning, we feel so energetic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were incredibly unimpressed with this "hotel" - use the word loosely. They decided to renovate the rooms until 3am. When multiple people in our group called the reception to complain they were told that the workmen were not working. That they had finished working at 7pm. The banging of hammers resonating in our heads tells another story.
The bathrooms were mouldy, although it the shower did have great water pressure (must have been all the hammering of the water pipes).
The breakfast was all cold although there was a massive selection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights there as a part of our China tour. Hotel was booked by our travel agency as a part of it. Having read negative reviews I was ready for the worst. However, after we checked-in (after spending night in a chilly cold train from Beijing) our room seemed to us very nice, warm and cosy. Our room was on 12th floor of Northern tower overlooking Small Wild Goose Pagoda. Yes, really hotel needs to be renovated (especially bathroom facilities). However, everything was clean and worked properly. Beds were hard as almost everywhere in mainland China. In general, room had old classic style (the same you'll have if you are in historic hotels in the States). Unfortunately, there was no safe deposit box in the room. Breakfast (as for me, very delicious, mainly Chinese, nicely served) is in the huge restaurant on the ground floor. Restaurant has glass roof, and that is why it was quite cold there in late December. What I did not liked the most was lobby - huge, in red granite, similar to those at old-fashioned raiway stations, with many stalls selling souvenirs and other things. And there is no Wi-Fi in the hotel. Also, according to hotel info there should be indoor swimming pool. But at the moment it's impossible to use it, because as we were told at the reception they leased it from somebody else before but stopped to do this now. The hotel is conveniently located in downown in about 2km from Bell and Drum Towers (2 metro stops) and about 4 km from Big Wild Goose Pagoda (about 10 RMB by taxi).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Xi'an Hotel is one of those old "Chinese 4 Star" flagship hotels located in the heart of the city and catering to tour groups. If you have ever taken a tour in China you will be familiar with this standard. Problem is, in 1992 you could accept this standard because that was all that was available and the state-owned CITS travel agency booked you there. You don't have to accept it now. The hotel has a huge lobby that looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 80's and the rooms are dark and make you feel sad. Thank goodness the bed linens were new. I will say that the service was fine although you'd be hard pressed to find an competent English speaker. There is really no reason to stay here now except if you are on a tight budget and really want to be downtown. Xi'an does not have a ton of choices in the middle price range, but still, you can do better.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Hotel

Address: No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Xi'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.