We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Xi'an Motel to your Saves list
Xi'an Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 293 Reviews
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend, it was bearable but average. Beds very hard, bathrooms quite small and not very clean. Room faced onto main street and window locks broken so they could not be closed, very noisy at night. Fortunately we live in china so can speak a bit of Chinese but the adage foreigner would struggle here.
Chinese love his hotel as it has rich history, allegedly many previous Chinese Presidents have stayed there....I doubt they would any more.
For the price and for the weekend, not bad.....but if you want luxury and comfort, look elsewhere. We paid 1500RMB for 2 nights, 2 adults 2 kids which was less than half most of the western hotels (holiday inn, Hilton etc etc)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    150
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
15
6
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived there on Mon 4/9 and the lobby was beautiful! Then we went up to our hotel room and there was a hotel room that hadn't been touched since the 70's. Cracked tiles in bathroom, stained, faded carpet, ROCK HARD mattress,the non existent toilet paper holder and frayed, split wiring to lamps. However, it was late and we're troopers so we put on our games faces and went to sleep. The next day we went down to breakfast and they told us our travel agent had signed us up for the Chinese breakfast. We looked at it and honestly there was nothing that we wanted to eat so we went back to the front desk and asked to change to the Western breakfast buffet. The trainee said yes, however, to be sure we asked the other girl, she looked at our paperwork and said yes also and the manager came over and also said we could. We offered to pay and they said no to just go ahead and go.

We went to the breakfast buffet and told the woman at the door that management said we could eat here instead of at the Chinese breakfast and she let us through. We went through and while they had food it was ALL cold, there were no warmers under the buffet servers. While we were in the buffet line someone came up and said we needed to go eat at the Chinese breakfast and we explained again that we didn't want to eat that but wanted to eat the Western breakfast and that the front desk staff and management had approved it. We sat down to eat and someone came up and told us that the Chinese breakfast cost so much yuan and the Western breakfast cost blank yuan, which was more. At this point, my husband said to forget it and keep the food and we left. We went up to the front desk and he tried to talk to the manager about the food and the room but there was no one available that spoke English. We had them call our tour guide who came over and we checked out of the hotel. The hotel is allegedly a 4 star hotel as the tour guide's boss told my husband is noted above their front door. But as my husband humorously told them- he can take 4 stars and stick it above our toilet and that doesn't make it 4 stars!!!

Seriously though, this hotel sucked, definitely the worst I have ever stayed at and I had misgivings when I looked the night before we were to arrive and saw the reviews but decided to keep an open mind. We walked in and saw the lobby and I thought WOW- they're wrong this is a beautiful hotel! But it truly is all in the hotel and not in the rooms. The staff was rude and not helpful at all to us and I'm not one to complain a lot but DO NOT STAY HERE! We have stayed at Chinese hotels but this bed was worse than sleeping on the floor and if it hadn't been so filthy we would have slept there honestly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

No hot water, stains on floor and in shower, the employees don't speak English, they won't change your money, it smells like smoke, the breakfast sucks, beds are like solid rocks, the light in the rooms is very dim, few wall outlets, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel we were meant to stay in didn't have the booking and so we we stayed here. The hotel was filthy and the beds were unbearably uncomfortable. We were travelling in a group and were told there were no other rooms. On the second night water came pouring through the ceiling of the bathroom and they had no choice to find us another room. This one was much larger and a bit cleaner. Fortunately we were only in Xian for 2 nights.

Room Tip: As far as we heard there were no good rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

only lobby is updated. A group of 30 stayed for one night. At check out time they wanted one of us to pay for missing hand towel about $3.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A tour group of 35 of us from Cincinnati stayed here two nights. Worst room we had in China. Carpet is worn out and stained and the furniture is in terrible condition. Staians, spills and what looks like flooding mar the furnishings. In an attempt to disquise the stains the chairs were covered in lace tablecloth runners. Our bed was extremely hard (I know, it's the custom, but this one was the worst we had while in China). We had to request assistance to figure out how to turn on the lights in the room. Turns out there's a funky old style 'hi-fi' contraption with buttons for the lights. Shower/tub had stains and missing tile. This hotel simply has not had any money spent on it for upkeep. We had a window overlooking the street that would not completely close. No Wifi access. There is an indoor pool and recreation area...again, extremely dated. Breakfast buffet was very nice and plentiful with interesting variety. We ate dinner one night at the Mongolian Hot Pot style restaurant in the hotel. I did not find it worth the time and effort when you cook your own meat over a steaming pot. There are two towers of rooms in this hotel and I understand that the rooms in the North tower (twin beds) were much nicer than ours with 1 Queen bed.

Room Tip: Our room was #532. When we complained about the condition of our room we were offered others on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is dated, and old...
My room was far from clean and stinking from cigarette smoke...
The furniture was old and broken the pillows dirty...
The breakfast was a buffet western food a little and chinese also
not the best....
It's locaction is at a mainroad, outside nothing to see only shops with
a lot of mobiles and other electric things..
If can skip this hotel and look a little further,,
The swimmingpool is inside at the back ,small and old.. there was also a
little massages/spa going on with some ladies there ??
Greetings A.P.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Motel

Address: No.58 Chang'an North Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#125 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Xi'an Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xian Hotel Xi An
Xi'An Motel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.