We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the traffic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.158 Dongda Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch the traffic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was a very comfortable stay for a few nights. Very clean and the traffic noise outside was hardly heard. it is located very nicely to shopping centres and malls, but they can be a little pricey. Keep your wits about you crossing roads as lights and pedestrian crossings are generally ignored - beware the electric (silent) bikes they will run you down in a moment. Advice is, corss road with locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces mostly to the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    293
    99
    26
    6
See reviews for
51
79
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I consider several factors in choosing a hotel, then rating it afterwards. I also try and get hotels that have character or a feel for where we are, or the type of trip I am on. In other words, when in Prague, I don't want the Hilton. 

Reviews by others are very important, and we do our homework. Also considered are location, price, breakfast, communication.

Comfort, lighting, bathroom space, water pressure...all things that make a stay or can ruin it.

That said, we were on our first ever tour and our first time in China. We stayed where the group stayed and I didn't do the usual research, although I DId read the reviews.

We loved the location. That was really key for this trip. it was so nice to be able to get out and walk around the city and explore. I recommend going outside the wall and walking around. It was a nice cultural experience. We did not go on top.

The bathroom had a small counter but we managed. Lighting and water pressure were good. the bed was harder than we are used to but we managed just fine. Love the silk comforters we got in the hotels, so even bought one for home. I liked the window treatments. Very different, but worked great for us. Older tv with limited chanels, but adequate when we were there to explore not the tv. The tiny pool was not heated, jacuzzi not full. My brother in law went to use it and the really nice staff tried filling it with a hose for him. Kind of funny, but he appreciated their efforts.
We enjoyed the breakfasts served in each hotel. I stuck mainly with the local fare and it was all good, but after 2.5 weeks I can't recall one from the other.

We had ipad wifi trouble everywhere we went in China, including airports, so by now we had adapted.

Take the time to explore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was clean and in a good location. The hotel was also very quiet which was nice.
We booked through an agent and got it at a cheaper price than is advertised. They also put a router in our room for wifi at our request which was great. They also have wifi in common areas.
The hotel is only 2 blocks from the centre bell tower and it was easy to jump on a bus outside for 1 or 2rmb each and get off two stops later.
No real complaints. It has a bar fridge to keep water cool and a safe as well which helpful. It also had 6 or so english channels on the TV.

Room Tip: Book before you go and request wifi in the room. The walk in price is a lot more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at this former Hyatt Hotel May 21/22 2013, and while I have no complaints I do have a couple of observations.

The stay was part of a package tour (China Best Tours, out of Sydney), and it was listed as 4.5 stars. I'd only go 3.5 to 4, because of a couple of minor problems.

Free wifi was supposed be available in the lobby - and it was, sort of.

In the piano bar, the wifi was quite good - but in the lobby area itself, and in the second guest seating area it was inadequate or non-existent.

That meant we had to sit in the piano bar, near the wifi router - and gently shoo away the staff who assumed we wanted to buy drinks or coffee.

That brings me to a second quibble ... A group of about six of us DID buy some coffees and cocktails and beers while sitting there. The coffees were apparently undrinkable (not unusual for China), the Margaritas were acceptable, and the beers were Tsingtao, so how could that go wrong? :-)

But the complete lack of English meant that three of the six orders were either mixed up, or had to be changed because "no more".

And finally, while discussing the lobby, the toilets next to the piano bar had no paper (not unusual for a Chinese toilet) .. but they also needed cleaning, and two of the stalls in the mens room had broken locks.

On the other hand, the location was excellent, the rooms spacious enough (and with a cute 'rice-paper' screen to diffuse the lights from outside) and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable (if not exceptional).

I note that others has commented on the very hard beds .. again, this is not unusual in Asia, so we just accepted that.

So - overall - the Grand Metropark is a perfectly adequate hotel, but really only 3.5 to 4 stars, not five.

Having said that, we were on a package tour which had kept us on the go non-stop for days, so all we really needed was a bed and a shower - and it had both of them :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern hotel with clean comfortable rooms and a great staff. No free wifi and rooms could use a little updating but an over all a good hotel with a decent location. The exterior and lobby are nice and the food was great! The continental breakfast was top notch no need to eat anywhere else for breakfast they have both chinese and western food and amenities. Overall a great experience comparible to a hampton inn in the states but with better food and lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights May 13/14 2013 on a China Best tour; the location is good but a disappointment was the bed, which was like sleeping on a rock!! Some others on the same tour had the same experience but not all so not sure what that was about. The Hotel was as others have commented a bit tired and dated but rooms were a good size and the hotel was otherwise clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included but was not up to the standard of the hotels we stayed in with CBT in Beijing and Shanghai. Prob suggest that CBT use an alternative hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a softer bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is said that this hotel is the former Hyatt Regency, maybe this is the reason for the dated look. But the location is quite good, just minutes of drive to the Bell Tower and the street for local food and snacks, and there are KTVs and shopping malls also within walk. The hotel room and dining are all average level, no big surprise but still good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.158 Dongda Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#67 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Metropark Hotel Xian Located within the historical city walls, in the heart of the shopping and entertainment area, close to the business and government districts. It only takes 10 minutes to the Xi'an Railway Station and about 1 hour to the eighth wonder of the world--Terra Cotta Warriors by car while it is 43 kilometers from the Xi'an Xianyang International Airport. It is also conveniently located close to the Shaanxi Provincial Museum, the Bell Tower and the Big Wild Goose Pagoda.Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an has 315 guest rooms, several restaurants as well as various conference and recreational facilities offering free WIFI and parking.In a new day, you may jog along the ancient city or enjoy the combination of its fashion and history. At the end of the day, you may take a rest in Oasis Lounge charming of the nature via listening attentively to water flowing and birds twittering, watching aromatic herbs and fishes playing. At this cozy moment the whole day shall be pleasing and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Xi An
Hyatt Xi An
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.