We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-room Wi-Fi, perhaps?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“In-room Wi-Fi, perhaps?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've stayed in many different Shangs all over China & the rest of Asia - this is the only one, in my memory, without in-room wifi! So not very convenient if your do not have an ethernet connection on your computer, or if you plan to work with your iPad or iPhone!





  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    299
    92
    24
    2
See reviews for
65
108
31
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel after a day visiting the Terracotta Warriors. Very large rooms, very quiet, good restaurant, close to train station for pickup by tour guides. Certainly would recommend this when visiting the Warriors.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is dated but the staff is excellent and work hard to make sure the guests are well taken care of. The restaurant is good and the breakfast provide a lot of local flavor. The staff are attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

First impression chaotic , many visitors, our key didn't work so had to traipse back to reception to get it re done, no apology! But room very good , lovely beds, Chinese restaurant was very good, recommend it, breakfast again very busy but plentiful.
We were taken to the Tang Dynasty cultural entertainment theatre restaurant for a meal and dance and music show. The food was ok , bit canteen style, music and dancing excellent so worth trying. Obviously the Terracotta Army is a must but don't miss the city wall, very wide , have a stroll or bike ride on it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our tour included deluxe room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

hotel staff are most helpful and friendly. transport arrangements are excellent. clean and comfortable rooms. overall experience is good. however building is getting old, renovation or refurbishment is needed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. I would strongly encourage the upgrade to the Horizon Club... so worth the extra money. By doing so, we got a "more comfortable bed"; I have a great mattress at home and found the mattress a bit uncomfortable, but I heard that Chinese mattresses aren't as comfortable as we wish. But, the upgrade gave us wifi in our room (convenient); breakfast in either the Horizon Club Lounge (not as big as downstairs, but not as crazy busy either as it seems all the tours are fed downstairs at the same time); happy hour fare in the Horizon Club and an overall nice, friendly, peaceful service by the staff at the beginning and end of the day. Xian can be intense. It is a big, crowded, busy city and being able to "retreat" to the hotel on the 9th floor was comforting. We didn't make arrangements to tour the sights through the hotel, but I am sure they would have done a fine job. By the way, if you have a chance, as you exit the hotel, go right and a few blocks away on the right, you will find such interesting streets to wander around. Get off the beaten path and see how the locals live and shop.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon Club. Disappointed in the fitness area... dire need of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Shangri-La should remove this hotel from its ranks & shame on Avalon waterways tours for using this hotel as part of its "luxury" tour in China. It is simply terrible in every way with run down not cleanly rooms in serious need of remodel & bathrooms are simply disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear sj2000_10,

Thanks for your comments, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience cause during your stay.

Your feedback on our room condition has been noted and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper to address the issues immediately.

Please let me know when you are travelling to Xian so I may personally ensure that you are well taken care of and of course to show you our hospitality in the respective service areas in the hotel.


Regards,
Nancy
Director of S&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#66 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.