We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, good people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service, good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just stay in June 2013 at the Golden Flower Hotel. Everything was fantastic. Just a heads up for all Western travellers. If you want to swim in a pool in China you must have a swimming cap. Something no one from Australia would ever take with them unless they are a professional swimmer, so pack on in your bag if you are going to China.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    334
    102
    26
    2
See reviews for
73
136
36
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Rooms are clean, quiet and no smell of paint and chemicals. Facility is well managed. People are friendly. Services are excellent. Foods are good. Location is close to downtown and easy to access. I will come back to this hotel agian after vacation.

Room Tip: Beds are comfortable. TV with many channels. Lighting system is simple. Free WiFi covers public area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Shangri-La Golden Flower is a great western style hotel in China. The city of Xian is very large so the hotel selection is very good. The Hotel is quite modern with large rooms and large bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Service was quite good and the breakfast included in our stay was excellent with western and asian selections available.. The locatioins is fine for visiting other sites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors and stayed at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable - nothing really special though. it could be an average 3 star hotel room anywhere in the world. The dinner buffet was very good, and the location is fairly central.
Xi'an is a sprawling city filled with ugly high rises, and we were a little discouraged when we drove in from the airport.
However, getting to see the terracotta warriors was amazing, especially since we went early on Monday morning, when there were not too many people.
The city wall is gorgeous, and worth seeing too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable -the connecting rooms worked very well for a family. The pool are was fun to use and good addition. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we found the restaurant excellent - due to poor weather we even had an evening meal there and were very pleasantly surprised as we try to eat out of the hotels if at all possible. Difficult to comment on its location as it was raining and we went everywhere by taxi - seemed reasonably located. All in all pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the second hotel in a 3 city tour of China. Of the 3 hotels, this one came in third but that doesn't mean it was bad. The rooms aren't as modern as the Pullman in Beijing or the Renaissance in Shanghai but they were clean and wifi was available IN ROOM for no extra charge unlike the others. The elevators are tiny so it may take several trips if you have a large group or a lot of luggage to get to your floor. Staff was superb and the breakfast was wonderful. There may be nicer hotels in Xi'an but there is nothing wrong with the Golden Flower and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri La Golden Flower hotel in mid April. Rooms are simple and modern, and in good condition. Our room had two single beds, a sofa, desk, flat screen TV with CNN and BBC in English, and a mini safe. The bathroom was well appointed and modern. Two complimentary bottles of water are provided daily. Note that in China, a standard two bed room contains two single beds. If there is a third person in the room you need to reserve a roll away bed. There is a good sized indoor pool and hot tub. Note that swim caps are required, even for bald people like me. They have a few you can borrow if you don’t have one. The workout room has a good assortment of cardio and weight machines. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was a variety of western and Asian dishes, plenty to choose from. The front desk was very helpful and efficient, and a greeter was always there to chat and make sure everything was ok with our stay. The location isn’t really near any sights, so if you aren’t in tour group, you will need a taxi to get to the center of town. It seems like a safe area. We had no issues, this is a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel
Shangri-La Hotel
#8 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
1.5 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#21 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
#22 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#24 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#57 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.