We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
India
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited Xi'an to see the terracotta warriors and stayed at this hotel. The rooms are comfortable - nothing really special though. it could be an average 3 star hotel room anywhere in the world. The dinner buffet was very good, and the location is fairly central.
Xi'an is a sprawling city filled with ugly high rises, and we were a little discouraged when we drove in from the airport.
However, getting to see the terracotta warriors was amazing, especially since we went early on Monday morning, when there were not too many people.
The city wall is gorgeous, and worth seeing too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    277
    88
    21
    1
See reviews for
57
92
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms were very spacious and comfortable -the connecting rooms worked very well for a family. The pool are was fun to use and good addition. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we found the restaurant excellent - due to poor weather we even had an evening meal there and were very pleasantly surprised as we try to eat out of the hotels if at all possible. Difficult to comment on its location as it was raining and we went everywhere by taxi - seemed reasonably located. All in all pretty good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was the second hotel in a 3 city tour of China. Of the 3 hotels, this one came in third but that doesn't mean it was bad. The rooms aren't as modern as the Pullman in Beijing or the Renaissance in Shanghai but they were clean and wifi was available IN ROOM for no extra charge unlike the others. The elevators are tiny so it may take several trips if you have a large group or a lot of luggage to get to your floor. Staff was superb and the breakfast was wonderful. There may be nicer hotels in Xi'an but there is nothing wrong with the Golden Flower and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri La Golden Flower hotel in mid April. Rooms are simple and modern, and in good condition. Our room had two single beds, a sofa, desk, flat screen TV with CNN and BBC in English, and a mini safe. The bathroom was well appointed and modern. Two complimentary bottles of water are provided daily. Note that in China, a standard two bed room contains two single beds. If there is a third person in the room you need to reserve a roll away bed. There is a good sized indoor pool and hot tub. Note that swim caps are required, even for bald people like me. They have a few you can borrow if you don’t have one. The workout room has a good assortment of cardio and weight machines. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was a variety of western and Asian dishes, plenty to choose from. The front desk was very helpful and efficient, and a greeter was always there to chat and make sure everything was ok with our stay. The location isn’t really near any sights, so if you aren’t in tour group, you will need a taxi to get to the center of town. It seems like a safe area. We had no issues, this is a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a short vacation in April of 2013. We bought a package deal with breakfast and tour to see the warriors and main points in the city. The hotel is not new, but well kept. The rooms are ok size, good housekeeping, and very friendly and helpful staff. The tour guide was very good and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and the tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having stayed in several fabulous Shangri La Hotels this was a disappointment. The hotel is rated 5 star however is 3 star at best. We rejected our first room as soon as we walked in due to stains on furniture and carpet. Carpet in the hallways was worn, torn and dirty - not due to staff lack of attention but in need of complete replacement. The hallway also smelled. Staff up graded us to a premier room that was large and comfortable enough however a cost saving reno of the bathroom left a tub that should have been replaced (stained tiles, painted over sealant). Furniture in the main areas needs replacement as much of it is frayed and again covered with stains, the worst being the chairs in the cafe. The breakfast buffet was plentiful yet the food unattractive. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were all helpful, polite and delightful.

Room Tip: Go for the premier. The room is very spacious and ours at least was in much better shape than the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Nora G, thanks for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. Your feedback has been taken note and will be investigated by our Management. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights having previously stayed at the Shangri-la hotels in both Hong Kong and Beijing on this trip. There is no comparison. The Golden Flower ( described as a Shangri-la hotel)in Xi'an is at best 3 star, public areas tired, corridors having stained carpets, unpleasant odour on our 7th floor corridor. Our room was upgraded to a premium room after we complained of the first one where the furniture and carpet were stained ( we are Golden Circle members) and while it was comfortable and reasonably clean, the bathroom was tired and small, urgently needing gutting and replacing. Shocking to us was that the towels were paper thin, in line with what one would find in a 1 or 2 star establishment. The staff were very pleasant and tried hard to be helpful. The breakfast buffet was adequate but far below what we experienced in the other 2 cities, in other words nothing special. We noticed that the carpet in the lobby was frayed in places as were the bottom of the sofas. The bar area on the main floor was fine with newer carpets, We had a private driver and thus were not bothered much by the long distances from the major sites but clearly the location is less than ideal.
We were told that there is in fact another Shangri- la hotel in the city , opened about 5 years ago
but we didn't get a chance to see it. This Golden Flower hotel is 25 years old and looks its age.
We didn't use the spa but accidentally gave it a terrible rating which we are unable to correct.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear 92 JesseG, thanks for your feedback of our property, we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Hotel facilities maintenance is one of our highest priority, your feedbacks on our guest room have been taken note and will be investigated by the Management. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#63 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.