We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly located” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 592 Reviews
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poorly located”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was winter. We enter to our room and the first thing we saw was an extra heater on the middle of the hall. We realized after the reason. The room was a fridge and the bathroom was the freezer. Moreover the bathroom was completely outdated. To give an idea the TV was the old big ones TV. You do not expect to see it in a 5 star hotel. Location is very poor. It is far from the nice area and the neighbourhood is not nice. It was a big dissapointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Pablo L, thank you for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. The Golden Flower Hotel, Xian located within city proximity provides easy access to some major attractions like the Terra Cotta Warriors and Ming City Wall. Your feedback on our guest room has been taken note and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineering. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    300
    92
    24
    2
See reviews for
65
109
32
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like anywhere in China it's wonderful to get out of the din, crush of humanity, and pollition, and enter the calm of a good hotel. This place will not let you down. Staff are cordial, but perfunctory. Rooms a spacious and comfortable, with western style baths a welcome amenity. Breakfast service was superb. You'll not go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure your "non-smoking" rooms was not last occupied by those who smoke the awful Asia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was a bit out of the way. You definitely needed transport to get to the centre of the city and to major attractions. There was construction on site and many of the advertised facilities such as the Salon/Hairdresser and the Gym were either unavailable or working very odd hours to accommodate guests at the hotel. Breakfast was such a crowded and frustrating excercise with seemingly endless queues of people for every table and extremely noisy. However, the food choices were more than adequate once you managed to get to them. This was not much help when you had a tour bus to catch at a given time. The hotel was obviously working to capacity and the staff appeared stressed and anxious. I must admit that I expected better from the "brand" Shangri-la Hotel. Overall, this was definitely not one of my enjoyable hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first - lower floors can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales & Marketing at Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lakbay2009,
thank you for your feedback of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. The Golden Flower Hotel, located within city proximity provide easy access to some attractions like the Terra Cotta Warriors and Ming City Wall. With regards to the hotel Health Club and Beauty Salon, we apologize for the temporary facilities upgrade that has caused your inconvenience. Your feedback on our Food and Beverage have been taken note and will be investigated by our F&B Manager. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us. Hence, please feel free to contact me at communications.slx@shangri-la.com or 86 29 8323 2981 so that we can address your concerns directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during abusiness trip to Xian. It's a good hotel, staff is very friendly and make you confortable with their helpful nature. They make you feel good. Restaurant is good. Rooms are spacious and clean. if you prefer non-smoking room let them know since smoking rooms are located in one wing and non smoking in other. If you wnt to visit City hotel staff call a city cab for you, ensure to carry hotel card with Cinease since cab drivers don't understand English.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is neither close to any tourist destination nor any attractions; in fact it stands alone in at the high tech zone which is middle of nowhere. Room was clean and big enough, but slightly old, probably due to too many tour groups and conference delegates stay there. Very hard to find a taxi, especially at rush hours. Hotel's doorwoman was friendly but unable to help much. Restaurants are good; the Thai one probably is the most authentic one in town. Buffet stands for Shangri-La’s reputation.

Room Tip: choose higher floors for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There were five us on this trip, so we stayed in two rooms. Both were adequate and clean. The hotel was fine just needed some updating. The pool was good for the kids. Remember to take bathing caps or you will pay 250rmb for each head you have. We did manage to get them to give us two to borrow. We stayed on the club level. This was a good upgrade as there was free dinner and free alcoholic drinks, as well as drinks for the younger set.

We ended up leaving about 20 dsi games behind. Kids video games that go in handheld players. We called the hotel and they sent them to us. So, kudos to the staff for that.

Overall, an average hotel with great customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during a recent tour through China. I understand now what Frommers means by the hotel's "switched on service." The service at the hotel was excellent and, beyond this, we felt that it was provided with a sincere, personal touch. The staff (from the greeter at the airport -- we pre-booked the car service to and from the hotel, which I recommend, to the staff in the hotel lobby and in the Horizon Club) made us feel very welcome and at home. We celebrated our daughter's 11th birthday while in Xi'an and the staff sent a very nice birthday cake to our room. It helped make our daughter's birthday that much more special. Of all the hotels we visited in China (and we were happy with them all), we are thankful we stayed at the Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel during our daughter's birthday.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet (even though we were facing the front of the hotel). I recommend booking the Horizon Club floor; it includes access to the Horizon Club lounge, free breakfast, and evening pre-dinner food and drinks.

I was a little hesitant to book the hotel's tour of the Terra Cotta Warrior museum because the cost (450 yuan per adult, less for children) seemed to be noticeably higher than if we did it ourselves. However, we ended up booking the tour through the hotel and are happy that we did. It was much more convenient for the hotel to handle everything, including transportation to and from the museum, and Michael, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and professional. He began telling us about the history of the Terra Cotta Warriors during the approximately 45 minute drive to the museum (the hotel's driver appeared to take a less congested route than the normal route that would have been taken by a taxi, making the ride more pleasant), so the formal tour began from the time we left the hotel. Michael also appeared to navigate us through the better parts of the museum complex and even tried to help us with price negotiation in the gift shop.

The one downside to the hotel (if someone is visiting Xi'an to see more than the Terra Cotta Warrior museum) is that the location is (for most people) well beyond walking distance from the city wall. The taxi ride to the East gate took us about 15 to 20 minutes, but the taxi ride from the South gate back to the hotel took about twice as long. If one is able, it appears to be much better to go to the city wall in the morning, or at least before 2:00pm. It is sometimes very difficult to flag down a taxi (even by the bellhops at the hotels) in the mid afternoon to early evening. I have the impression that the hotels are not able to call in a taxi by phone in this city.

We very much enjoyed the cycling on top of the city wall. If it is not too cold, I also recommend timing the cycling on the city wall so that you can see the sun go down and the lights turn on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#12 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#65 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.