We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 2,171 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ny
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is an slightly older 4 to 4.5 star hotel. Seems to cater to a lot of bus tours. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice turndown service. Service was very good. Breakfast was OK and very crowded due to all the tours I think. The only downside I felt was an odor in the hallway of our wing. It was also some distance from the Terra Cotta Warriors which was our main reason for coming to this city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    313
    96
    25
    2
See reviews for
71
114
33
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with our group. This was a beautiful hotel with very nice rooms, very clean and great service. Great bathroom. The staff was very nice as well. Turndown service. Nice breakfast. This was comparable to any top hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent four nights at the Golden Flower. We were there on business so we did not see much of the surrounding area. The highlights were the very friendly staff. At check-in we were greeted by Apple, who was very friendly and spoke great English. She personally accompanied us to the room, and remembered our name throughout the stay. Other notable staff member at the executive lounge were Liza. She was wonderful. In fact, all staff were great without being pushy.

The upstairs happy hours were an added bonus. Breakfast fare was abundant.

The only downside is that there was no in-room wi-fi. At this day and age, i would expect that. Instead, we got a cable, which is better than nothing, but.....

There was good wi-fi in the lobby, restaurant and at the lounge. This, it turned out was above normal, compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Beijing and Shanghai.

Room Tip: Get the executive floor. The lounge there is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Shangri-La Golden Flower while on a tour. The front desk staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. There was a staff member in the lobby to assist guests in using the hotel's wi-fi. Turndown service was provided. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. There are wall-to-wall windows nicely draped. Both the room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The breakfast area was pleasant but a little small. There was a fair selection of Western and Asian foods. The food was okay but not outstanding. The old city wall is an approximately 30-minute walk away from the hotel. Overall, our stay was very good.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel on the 7th floor overlooking the courtyard outside the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The service at this hotel was outstanding. We were warmly greeted by an English-speaking receptionist who obviously wanted to cater to all of our needs. We asked for some ice on two separate occasions and both times they brought a bucket of ice up to our room. We went to the lobby early in the morning and there was no coffee avaliable. The staff member took it upon herself to make a fresh cup of coffee for us even though the restaurant was not open. The room was clean, smoke-free, had a working refrigerator, and the hotel had a beautiful gym and pool. The breakfast buffet offered many delicious choices. Overall, this hotel was an outstanding experience and we would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Oz
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

According to our guide this hotel is in the best location being on the North side of the city it cuts down the amount of travel time to and from the airport and also to the Terracotta Warriors. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly, each time we went to or through the lobby the staff acknowledged us with smiles. Our room was large and so welcoming with a comfy bed and with the bonus of a settee. Breakfast was very good and we found quantity and quality to be up to a high standard. The wait staff, both in the dining and bar areas were excellent.
I had just one small niggle, on asking the location of the nearest post office the desk lady offered for one of their staff to both buy the stamps and post my postcards for me. For whatever reason my postcards never arrived at their destination. Despite that one small issue I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again if in Xian.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel and its interior is a bit older but its well maintained and very clean. The rooms are in line with this and well equipped like an average 5 star hotel. The weak point has been the breakfast buffet which is relatively small and the quality of some of the dishes were below average. The staff has been outstandingly nice and made really an extra effort to address all needs. The swimming pool and sport club is as well pretty old. The location is not optimal but via car only a few minutes away from the city center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#57 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.